Jean Stafford: Complete Novels (Loa #324): Boston Adventure / The Mountain Lion / The Catherine Wheel

Backorder (temporarily out of stock)

Product Details

Library of America
Publish Date
5.3 X 8.0 X 1.3 inches | 1.28 pounds
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Jean Stafford (1915-1979) grew up in southern California and Colorado. After graduating from the University of Colorado in 1936, she studied in Heidelberg for a year, then moved to the Northeast and began to write. Stafford would publish three novels, Boston Adventure (1944), The Mountain Lion (1947), The Catherine Wheel (1952), more than forty short stories (The Collected Stories of Jean Stafford won the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction in 1970), and A Mother in History (1966), a journalistic portrait of Marguerite Oswald, mother of Lee Harvey Oswald.

Kathryn Davis is the Hurst Writer in Residence at Washington University and the author of eight novels, including Labrador, The Walking Tour, Duplex, and The Silk Road. She has received the Katherine Anne Porter Award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters and the Lannan Literary Award for Fiction.


"A revelation. . . . Boston Adventure is surely one of the most haunting depictions of female isolation in fiction, rivaling in its unrelenting sense of imprisonment Charlotte BrontΓ«'s Villette. . . . [The Catherine Wheel] vividly evokes the despair of an adolescent engulfed by loneliness. . . . The Mountain Lion is rightly hailed as Stafford's greatest novel, . . . a grim fable, of sorts, about the pressure to leave certain childish things and people behind in order to achieve adulthood." -Maureen Corrigan, The Wall Street Journal