Isle of the Amazons in the Vermilion Sea

(Illustrator) (Narrated by)
Available

Product Details

Price
$29.95
Publisher
39 West Press
Publish Date
Pages
180
Dimensions
8.0 X 0.63 X 10.0 inches | 1.62 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781946358141
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

JUDITH PALMER is a printmaker whose work is in the tradition of Jasper Johns, Cy Twombly, and Richard Diebenkorn. She explores the language of art and the process by which art's sign-system communicates its message-line, texture, color, and image. Palmer collects found language--numerals, words, sentences--from streets, walls, or waste paper, transfers their photo images onto zinc plates, and combines these elements with traditional, more rigid patterns and techniques of etching. The result is a dialectic: a movement back and forth between spontaneously flowing arabesques--that represent energy, aggression, and rebellion--and the rigid, straight lines of confinement and restriction. This combined language of spontaneity and restraint generates movement and tension between the different parts--form becomes content. Palmer's art is housed in the permanent collections of galleries and museums in Santa Monica, California; Knoxville, Tennessee; Riverside, California; and Pomona, California. She has received many awards, including the Margaret R. Hanenberg Award from the University of California, Riverside; the Ink and Clay Purchase Prize Award from California State Polytechnic in Pomona, California; and the Jurors' Award at the Pacific States Print Exhibition. Her line drawings for this volume are a departure from her more stylized, post-modern work.
GREGORY MACDONALD was the former Business and Facilities Administrator for the City of Riverside Public Library and the Riverside County Public Library System, a John Steinbeck scholar, and a Baja California enthusiast. He combined a passion for motorcycles with a fascination for Baja, its history, and its people. As an avid student of the exploration of Baja by the Spaniards and Mexicans, modern-day sailors, and adventurers, MacDonald, too, traveled deep into the mountains to visit isolated missions, towns, and farms. In the early 1970s, prior to the completion of Federal Highway 1 in 1975, he rode the thousand-mile length of the peninsula, alone, on his motorcycle, mostly off road. Later, he and his dog, Maggie, traveled around the United States in a rig exactly like John Steinbeck's, following the itinerary of the author's Travels With Charlie. MacDonald maintained an extensive library on Baja and documented his own travels with photographs and essays, including a land-based version of the voyage Steinbeck chronicled in The Log from the Sea of Cortez. In Cabo Pulmo, on the East Cape, he used an outboard motor--a Johnson Sea Horse--identical to the one that bedeviled Steinbeck, which the latter dubbed Sea Cow for its low power and lack of reliability. Gregory MacDonald was raised in Riverside, California, where he lived with his wife, Virginia, and his son, Matthew, who both are deceased. MacDonald passed away in 2015.