Into The Sounds


Product Details

Severed Press
Publish Date
6.0 X 0.53 X 9.0 inches | 0.77 pounds
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

3-time international Bram Stoker Award-winner, Lee Murray is New Zealand's most awarded speculative fiction writer and editor (Sir Julius Vogel, Australian Shadows). She is the author of numerous novels, novellas, and short fiction including the double award-winning Taine McKenna speculative thriller series (Severed Press), supernatural crime-noir series Path of Ra (Raw Dog Screaming Press) which she co-writes with Wellington author, Dan Rabarts, and her Bram Stoker Award-winning debut collection Grotesque: Monster Stories. She is proud to have edited seventeen anthologies of dark fiction. Lee lives with her family in the sunny Bay of Plenty where she conjures up stories for readers of all ages from her office overlooking a cow paddock. Distinctions: Grimshaw Sargeson Fellow, 2021 Honorary Literary Fellow of the New Zealand Society of Authors, Waitangi Day Honours, 2020 Horror Writers Association Mentor of the Year 2019 Life Member of Tauranga Writers, New Zealand's longest standing writing group, 2020 Life Member of SpecFicNZ (Speculative Fiction Writers of New Zealand), 2018 ​ Current Roles: Acquiring Editor, Omnium Gatherum Publishing US Mentor/assessor HWA, NZSA, SpecFicNZ, YNZW Co-founder and facilitator for youngNZwriters Co-founder Wright-Murray Residency for Speculative Fiction Writers ​ Awards: International Bram Stoker Awards: 2020 WINNER for Superior Achievement in a Fiction Collection for Grotesque: Monster Stories (Things in the Well) 2020 WINNER for Superior Achievement in an Anthology for Black Cranes: Tales of Unquiet Women (Omnium Gatherum Media 2019 nominee for Superior Achievement in a Novel for Into the Ashes (Severed Press) 2018 nominee for Superior Achievement in an Anthology for Hellhole: An Anthology of Subterranean Terror 2018 nominee for Superior Achievement in a Short Story for Dead End Town in Cthulhu Deep Down Under II (Proposch, Sequeira and Stevens eds) Sir Julius Vogel Awards: Best Novel for Into the Sounds, 2019 Best Novel for Hounds of the Underworld with Dan Rabarts, 2018 Best Novel for Into the Mist, 2017 Best Collected Work for Te Korero Ahi Ka, with Grace Bridges and Aaron Compton, 2019 Best Collected Work for At the Edge with Dan Rabarts, 2017 Service to Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Horror, Lee Murray, 2017 Best Short Story for The Thief's Tale, 2016 Best Short Story for Inside Ferndale, 2015 Best Novella/Novelette for Cave Fever, in Regeneration, 2014 Best Collected Work for Baby Teeth with Dan Rabarts, 2014 Best Short Story for Hope is the Thing With Feathers 2013 Best Youth Novel for Battle of the Birds, 2012 Australasian Shadows Awards: Best Edited Work for Hellhole: An Anthology of Subterranean Horror. 2019 Best Edited Work for Baby Teeth with Dan Rabarts, 2014 ​ Fellowships: Grimshaw Sargeson Fellowship Winner 2021 Honorary Fellow of the NZSA 2020 Beatson Fellowship Finalist 2020 Grimshaw Sargeson Fellowship Finalist 2016