Into the Darkest Day: An emotional and totally gripping WW2 historical novel

Kate Hewitt (Author)
Available

Description

She had to step outside and hold the paper up to the moonlight to read it, but when she was able to make out the words, her heart felt as if it would drop right out of her chest. Because the message was in German.

1944, London:

When Lily meets enigmatic GI Matthew in war-torn London, she doesn't expect to fall in love. While her sister starts a reckless affair with another GI, Lily tries to hide her growing feelings for Matthew.

But Matthew has a devastating secret. One that could change their lives forever.

Present day, USA:

Abby lives a quiet life on an apple farm in Wisconsin. Tormented by survivor's guilt after the tragic deaths of her mother and brother, Abby leaves the orchards as little as possible, keeping her life small, peaceful and safe... Until she is contacted by Englishman Simon Elliot, who arrives nursing a heartbreak of his own, and bearing a World War Two medal that he claims belonged to Abby's grandfather.

Together they begin to piece together the heartbreaking story of their relatives' war. But as the story brings Abby and Simon closer--tentatively beginning to lean on one another to heal--they uncover a dark secret from the past.

And like Lily and Matthew nearly eighty years before them, it will make Abby and Simon question whether you can ever truly trust someone, even when they have your heart...

A heartbreakingly powerful, epic love story about courage, friendship and broken trusts, Into the Darkest Day is an unforgettable story perfect for fans of Nora Roberts, Kristin Hannah and The Notebook.

Readers are loving Into the Darkest Day

"Outstandingly beautiful and intriguing... I can't praise it enough." Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

"If you only read one book this year please make it this one. I cannot express how much I loved reading this book." Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

"The WW2 descriptions and stories were out of this world... A page-turner." Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

"Wow, Kate Hewitt has done it once again ... It] grabbed me immediately ... I found the characters captivating and endearing... Kate Hewitt is one of my 'must read' authors." Steph and Chris's Book Review, 5 stars

"Touching... truly a powerful story. It was incredibly deep... Kate Hewitt has done an exceptional job." Robin Loves Reading, 5 stars

" It] will stay with you long after it ends... A heartbreaking love story... A must read." Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

" An] emotional story that grabbed me immediately ... Engaging and lovely " Goodreads Reviewer

Product Details

Price
$10.99
Publisher
Bookouture
Publish Date
May 14, 2020
Pages
374
Dimensions
5.08 X 0.83 X 7.8 inches | 0.8 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781838885106

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Kate Hewitt is the USA Today bestselling author of more than forty books, including This Fragile Life, Far Horizons, and The Other Side of the Bridge (writing as Katharine Swartz). An American ex-pat, she lives in the English Cotswolds with her husband and five children. Visit her at kate-hewitt.com.