Intimacy Idiot

Available

Product Details

Price
$16.00
Publisher
Scribner Book Company
Publish Date
Pages
288
Dimensions
5.5 X 0.7 X 8.4 inches | 0.5 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781476746678
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Isaac Oliver is an award-winning writer and performer. He has read stories in the How I Learned Series, Dead Darlings, The Soundtrack Series, Real Characters, Naked Radio, and On This Island. Intimacy Idiot is his first book.

Reviews

Isaac Oliver is one of the funniest, sharpest and smartest writers I have ever encountered...on Grindr. His book is pretty hilarious too.--Jesse Tyler Ferguson, star of ABC's Modern Family
The best stories of awkward dating and sex are the ones that aren't happening to you. I laughed out loud at this consistently hilarious and surprisingly poignant collection from the comfort of my own home, without ever having to remove clothing in front of a stranger. Thank you, Intimacy Idiot!--Rachel Dratch, Saturday Night Live alum and author of Girl Walks into a Bar...
Isaac Oliver is hilarious, biting, heartfelt, physically beautiful, financially wealthy. He's like if Oscar Wilde were gay!!--Megan Amram, author of Science...for Her!
Isaac Oliver is a tender and tenacious observer of folly and desire in our modern age.--Susanna Sonnenberg, author of Her Last Death and She Matters
Wickedly humorous...surprisingly moving.--Susanna Sonnenberg, author of Her Last Death and She Matters "Kirkus"
Affecting and effective...Oliver's collection will please fans of David Sedaris and David Rakoff.--Susanna Sonnenberg, author of Her Last Death and She Matters "Booklist"
Isaac Oliver splits the difference between David Rakoff and Larry David in a hilarious, unsparing essay collection that assesses other peoples' social infractions and his own casual encounters with furries.--Susanna Sonnenberg, author of Her Last Death and She Matters "New York Magazine"
[A] Gut-Buster...Oliver muses on everything from subway rides to Grindr. With his eyebrow cocked and murse in hand, there's no such thing as 'too far' for this New Yorker.--Susanna Sonnenberg, author of Her Last Death and She Matters "Out Magazine"
"...more than just a deeply honest, coming-of-age memoir. It's funny, touching, enlightening, and by the end, you'll feel like you've watched Oliver grow up."--Susanna Sonnenberg, author of Her Last Death and She Matters "Baltimore Magazine"
[An] emerging talent.--Susanna Sonnenberg, author of Her Last Death and She Matters "Frontiers"
If David Sedaris and Fran Lebowitz had a baby who wrote about subways, theater patrons and blow jobs, he might be a lot like Isaac Oliver.... [A] compulsively readable debut collection.--Susanna Sonnenberg, author of Her Last Death and She Matters "Time Out New York"
A humorous collection of essays and sketches.--Susanna Sonnenberg, author of Her Last Death and She Matters "Arizona Republic"
Like any young memoirist worth reading, Oliver has mastered the art of self-deprecation...Oliver can find humor and heart in the unlikeliest of places.--Susanna Sonnenberg, author of Her Last Death and She Matters "Entertainment Weekly"
Isaac Oliver delivers big in his debut Intimacy Idiot. Hooks and heartbreaks are laid out like a feast for readers..Oliver's observations and encounters will strike a chord of familiarity with anyone who has been brave enough to search for connections in the urban jungle.--Susanna Sonnenberg, author of Her Last Death and She Matters "Muses and Visionaries"
If you're looking to laugh your ass off in spite of yourself, you've come to the right place... sincere, thoughtful and genuinely funny.--Susanna Sonnenberg, author of Her Last Death and She Matters "Edge Boston"
Hilarious and heartfelt.--Susanna Sonnenberg, author of Her Last Death and She Matters "Out.com"
Hilarious.--Susanna Sonnenberg, author of Her Last Death and She Matters "Metro, New York Must-Read LGBT Book"
Isaac Oliver's debut collection of humor stories, "Intimacy Idiot," smacks of David Sedaris. And it's not just because he's insanely dry, incredibly witty, and has stories about being bad at driving or being bad at dating in New York City, although he does all those things, and he is brilliant at it. This is the type of book that makes you look crazy as you laugh out loud alone. I dare you not to read it and not laugh out loud alone. On the first page.--Susanna Sonnenberg, author of Her Last Death and She Matters "South Coast Today"
When it comes to getting intimate, comic writer Isaac Oliver is no idiot...Hysterical.--Susanna Sonnenberg, author of Her Last Death and She Matters "New York Metro"
Fans of David Sedaris and David Rakoff, take note: Here's another bracingly sharp, unbelievably funny voice for you to embrace. Charting the highlights and mostly lowlights of living in New York City, Oliver tackles dating, intimacy, subways, cocktail parties, Times Square, and so much more via sketches, vignettes, and diary entries...guaranteed to make you laugh out loud.--Susanna Sonnenberg, author of Her Last Death and She Matters "Fodors 12 Books to Read on Your Summer Vacation"
Balances the punchlines with pathos and genuine emotion...a great presentation of Oliver's excellent comedy and writing abilities.--Susanna Sonnenberg, author of Her Last Death and She Matters "Lambda Literary"
A deeply personal take on what it's like to be looking for love--or a connection--in New York. Oliver's self-deprecating, overanalyzing take on his mishaps and encounters is one that readers will inevitably be able to relate to and commiserate with.--Susanna Sonnenberg, author of Her Last Death and She Matters "The Rumpus"
Very funny and very honest... Anyone, gay or straight, who's trying to hack his way through the dating world would enjoy this.--Chris Colfer "The Rumpus"
"Oliver has [an] inviting intelligent audacity."--NewYorker.com--Chris Colfer "The Rumpus"