In a Dark, Dark Wood

Ruth Ware (Author)
Available

Description

*AUTHOR OF THE WOMAN IN CABIN 10 and THE LYING GAME
*INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES, USA TODAY, AND LOS ANGELES TIMES BESTSELLER
*SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE

An NPR Best Book of the Yea

Product Details

Price
$16.00  $14.72
Publisher
Gallery/Scout Press
Publish Date
April 19, 2016
Pages
352
Dimensions
5.3 X 1.0 X 8.1 inches | 0.65 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781501112331
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Ruth Ware worked as a waitress, a bookseller, a teacher of English as a foreign language, and a press officer before settling down as a full-time writer. She now lives with her family in Sussex, on the south coast of England. She is the #1 New York Times and Globe and Mail (Toronto) bestselling author of In a Dark, Dark Wood, The Woman in Cabin 10, The Lying Game, The Death of Mrs. Westaway, and The Turn of the Key. Visit her at RuthWare.com or follow her on Twitter @RuthWareWriter.

Reviews

I started IN A DARK, DARK WOOD on an airplane, kept dipping into it whenever I was left alone, devoured another big chunk on the flight home, and after that surrendered myself to it until the last revelation had bloomed, the final surprise had exploded, and the bittersweet conclusive turn had folded the final page. Ruth Ware has written an exciting, and in fact amazing book that never stops circling around behind the reader and clapping its cold hands over her eyes.--Peter Straub, New York Times bestselling author
I raced through this, totally unable to put it down...Dark, smart and compulsive.--Nicci Cloke, author of Lay Me Down
"Likely to be the next Gone Girl."--Elizabeth Willse "Surrounded by Books "
"An English psychological thriller...compared to Gone Girl and Girl on the Train."--Steve Bennett "My San Antonio "
"So gripping. So glad my hen days are behind me. It's going to be huge."--Tamar Cohen, author of Dying for Christmas and The Broken
"If the premise might be the sort that Agatha Christie would have toyed with had she been a 21st-century graduate, Ware's analysis of the power-games some women revel in - and the toxicity in the undertow of some female friendships - is more reminiscent of Sophie Hannah, Christobel Kent, or even Gillian Flynn and Harriet Lane."--Patricia Nicol "Independent "
"The next Girl on the Train...Ware hews [close] to the new genre of twisty-mystery women's books."--Vulture
"Ware slowly unspools the mystery, setting a truly spooky scene ... with a constant undercurrent of danger. Read it on adark and stormy night--with all the lights on."--Kirkus Reviews
"Who pulls a gun at a bachelorette party? The answers are unveiled with Gillian Flynn-style trickery."--O Magazine
"Haunting."--Style Boston
"Eerie and mysterious!"--EBookClassics
"[In a Dark, Dark Wood] will appeal to fans of Gillian Flynn's Gone Girl and Paula Hawkins's The Girl on the Train."--Publisher's Weekly
"In a Dark, Dark Wood packs a noirish punch that would make the Queen of Crime herself proud."--Bustle
"[In a Dark, Dark Wood] mixes tropes popularized by such suspense novels as S.J. Watson's Before I Go to Sleep and Gillian Flynn's Gone Girl... with Agatha Christie touches. Ware writes with verve and energy, building up the suspense and keeping the pages flying."--Library Journal
"Ware's debut novel sets the stage for her to become a household name... Engaging, suspenseful and mysterious."--RT Book Reviews
"Just try to guess how sinister this plot can get (hint: VERY)."--Marie Claire
"You'll find it almost impossible to put this twisting, electrifying debut down...[The] foggy atmosphere and chilling revelations will leave you breathless."--Entertainment Weekly
"WARNING: This book is hot. Do not pick it up late at night or if you are in a dark, dark wood...Ruth Ware has a gift. This British author's first foray into fiction is a hit...it delivers a punch and keeps you guessing--an ideal August psychodrama that reminds us why mysteries remain such fun--except at night."--The New York Journal of Books
"An enchantingly unsettling thriller with mysterious characters and a classically spooky setting."--Shelf Awareness
"The best thing about In A Dark, Dark Wood is the eerie atmosphere it creates for this ill-fated weekend, never overwrought, just ominous enough, the glass house where the guests are trapped 'dark and silent, blending into the trees, almost invisible.'"--USAToday.com
"The pulse-quickening plot of In a Dark, Dark Wood by Ruth Ware will keep you up until the small hours."--Good Housekeeping, UK
"Ruth Ware's stunning first novel (catch it before the inevitable film) digs into all the hidden horrors of female 'friendship'; suddenly, the old playground secrets come slithering out."--Saga, UK
"A sinister mood lurks in [In a Dark, Dark Wood]."--Elle Magazine, UK