If You Want a Friend in Washington: Wacky, Wild & Wonderful Presidential Pets

Erin McGill (Author)
Available

Description

A clever, funny, and informative look at the pets--from Calvin Coolidge's wallaby to Teddy Roosevelt's flying squirrels--that have passed through the White House gates. Perfect for fans of I Am George Washington and So You Want to Be President?

President Truman famously said, If you want a friend in Washington, get a dog. And a dog is what many presidents got. From James Garfield to Calvin Coolidge to Richard Nixon, presidents often found a friend in Fido (in fact, Abe Lincoln's pup was actually named Fido). Others preferred cats, horses, small critters, or even big, ferocious animals like bears and alligators. With a catchy refrain (If you want a friend in Washington . . ., ), this is a funny, educational book about the animals that have passed through the White House. Whether it's favorite dogs like Barbara Bush's Millie or the Obamas' Bo; Abraham Lincoln's cat, Dixie; Calvin Coolidge's hippo, Billy; or Andrew Jackson's foul-mouthed parrot, Poll, Erin McGill brings to life a menagerie of presidential pets in this entertaining, whimsical, and carefully researched picture book that's perfect for animal lovers and history buffs alike.

Product Details

Price
$17.99  $16.55
Publisher
Schwartz & Wade Books
Publish Date
July 07, 2020
Pages
44
Dimensions
10.2 X 11.1 X 0.6 inches | 1.15 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780593122693

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Erin McGill received a BFA in illustration at Pratt Institute, where she discovered her love of patterns, textiles, and collage. She is the recipient of the Ezra Jack Keats Memorial Fellowship, a Highlights Foundation grant, the SCBWI Portfolio Award, and the SCBWI Award for Humor. She is the author-illustrator of I DO NOT LIKE AL'S HAT, with two picture books forthcoming. This is her first nonfiction project.

Reviews

"Great, fascinating, lighthearted fun." --Kirkus, starred review