If the S in Moose Comes Loose

Peter Hermann (Author) Matthew Cordell (Illustrator)
Available

Description

*A Bank Street College of Education Best Children's Books of the Year*

Spelling has never been so zany When the S in MOOSE comes loose, Cow must find the missing letters and glue MOOSE back together Perfect for fans of Michael Hall and Sandra Boynton.

Rollicking, clever, and a great way to have fun with letters, If the S in Moose Comes Loose is a seriously wild ride from start to finish.

When two of Moose's letters come loose, he vanishes. Poof But his best friend, Cow, has an idea: she'll find a G, an L, a U, and an E and glue M-O-O-S-E back together, better than ever But it's not as easy as it sounds....

Author Peter Hermann is not only a debut picture book author, he also plays publisher Charles Brooks on TV Land's hit show Younger. Matthew Cordell is the acclaimed author and illustrator of the 2018 Caldecott winner Wolf in the Snow and has written and/or illustrated dozens of other books for children.

If the S in MOOSE comes loose
and the E breaks free . . . what's left?
M-O-O

--Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

Product Details

Price
$17.99  $16.55
Publisher
HarperCollins
Publish Date
March 13, 2018
Pages
48
Dimensions
11.44 X 0.56 X 9.31 inches | 1.0 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780062295101
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Peter Hermann is an American actor and writer. He is fluent in four languages and has appeared in numerous films and television shows. He is married to actress Mariska Hargitay, who he met when he appeared on Law & Order: Special Victims Unit. They have three children.

Matthew Cordell is the author and illustrator of Caldecott award winner Wolf in the Snow, Trouble Gum, Another Brother, hello! hello!, and Wish. He has illustrated the books of renowned authors including Philip Stead (Special Delivery), Rachel Vail (the Justin Case series), and Gail Carson Levine (Forgive Me, I Meant To Do It). He lives outside of Chicago with his wife, the novelist Julie Halpern, and their two children.

Reviews

"Hermann's fast-paced romp will likely leave readers laughing and spelling along. Cordell's illustrations, rendered in pen and ink and watercolor, match the kinetic pace of the tale. His animals are loosely drawn and delightfully expressive."--Kirkus Reviews
"Little listeners and beginning readers alike will enjoy the rhyme and wordplay."--Kirkus Reviews
"Cordell (The Only Fish in the Sea) excels at drawing animals in the grip of powerful emotions, but always with the sense that they're fundamentally decent creatures. Hermann's verse never skips a beat, and the transformation of everyday objects into new things supplies a string of guffaws."--Publishers Weekly
"The premise recalls Escoffier's Where's the BabOOn? (BCCB 1/16), and Hermann brings an extra helping of high-energy silliness to Cow's pell-mell procession."--Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
"Cordell's line and watercolor art is zippy perfection, his familiar loose-limbed scribbles adding a sense of barely contained chaos as Cow bipedally scampers through the scenes."--Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
"This is orthographical humor at its best, and it could inspire a freestanding swap-one-letter game once the book closes."--Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books