Hush Little Baby

Available

Product Details

Price
$27.00  $24.84
Publisher
Dutton Books
Publish Date
Pages
336
Dimensions
6.4 X 8.9 X 1.4 inches | 1.15 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780593183496

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

R. H. Herron received her MFA in writing from Mills College, Oakland. She is the author of thrillers Stolen Things and Hush Little Baby, as well as the bestselling author of more than two dozen books under a different name. She lives and teaches writing in California.

Reviews

Praise for Hush Little Baby

R. H. Herron's Hush Little Baby is a dark, twisty, totally modern thriller that I couldn't put down. Its heroine, Dr. Jillian Marsh, is the gutsy survivor of a troubled childhood and alcoholism, and when the novel opens, she's carrying the biological child of her wife - who has just left her for another woman. Jillian relies on her circle of friends, The Ripleys, for support, but they can't help when strange things start happening around her house. She begins to suspect someone is stalking her, then events turn harrowing and Jillian finds herself in the battle of her life, for her life - and for her baby. I'm new to R. H. Herron but this page-turner puts her on my must-read list!--Lisa Scottoline, New York Times bestselling author of Eternal

"A wild series of twists take center stage as Herron's carefully crafted suspense turns into something else altogether, spinning the story in a terrifying new direction. Readers who are drawn to creepy tension and shocking consequences will revel in Hush Little Baby, even as they join the characters in taking a harder look at what pregnancy and motherhood offer to and demand from women."--BookPage

"A gripping, deftly plotted thriller, and so much more--R. H. Herron delivers an unflinching meditation on womanhood, motherhood and sisterhood. Hush Little Baby is a fiercely compelling must-read!"--E.G. Scott, internationally bestselling author of In Case of Emergency

Praise for Stolen Things

"Exciting storytelling and great characters make Stolen Things a powerhouse read. The writing is superb and I can't wait for her next book!"--Iris Johansen, New York Times bestselling author

An addictive thriller that starts with a bang and only gets more twisted as you read.--Hello Giggles on Stolen Things

Herron has worked as a 911 dispatcher for many years, and her debut is infused with both the emotional truths and daily details of her life's work. . . . A textbook study of tension and secrets in small-town America.--CrimeReads on Stolen Things

"Herron treats us to a thriller that slowly peels back the layers of dirty secrets kept by all the people involved . . . An intense read. Perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter or Lisa Scottoline."--Library Journal on Stolen Things

"Herron, a former emergency dispatcher, offers a twisty revenge tale buoyed by successful red herrings, relatable characters, and headline-grabbing themes."--Booklist on Stolen Things

Riveting . . . Herron is definitely a writer to watch.--Publishers Weekly on Stolen Things

"The book confronts a slew of today's issues . . . with pathos and conviction. Chapters are short, emotional bursts of energy that fuel the quest for answers. . . . Stolen Things explores the lengths we go to recover what is lost."--Bookpage

"Stolen Things
is a fast-paced thriller with layers of plot twists. Readers may go into the story with certain expectations but will be pleasantly surprised by how much deeper the storyline goes. Through the lens of the mother-daughter narrative, Herron addresses issues about major topics including sexual assault, race, identity/sexuality, and the role of social media in our society that feel like they've been ripped straight from current headlines."--Booktrib.com

"R. H. Herron's Stolen Things is a powerful debut. With tight, cutting prose and a breakneck pace, Herron crafts a haunting tale of a family's shattering inflection point. Tragic, twisty, and timely, Stolen Things keeps you guessing while simultaneously breaking your heart a little. Thriller readers will surely be adding R. H. Herron to their favorite-author list."--Carter Wilson, USA Today bestselling author of Mister Tender's Girl

Herron writes this story as only a seasoned 911 dispatcher can--gripping us with a cry for help that hits home and steering us, come what may, to the breathless finish. Stolen Things is an urgent, timely tale that transports readers into the minds on both ends of that worst-nightmare call: a daughter desperate for help, and a mother who will have to pass the ultimate test to give it.--Jessica Strawser, author of Not That I Could Tell

Stolen Things is relentless, a vortex that sucks you in, yet sparkles with grace notes that keep the story from being too dark. This book stays with you long after you close the pages.--Toby Neal, USA Today bestselling author