Horns

Joe Hill (Author)
Available

Product Details

Price
$16.99  $15.63
Publisher
William Morrow & Company
Publish Date
March 08, 2011
Pages
397
Dimensions
5.58 X 1.05 X 8.19 inches | 0.73 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780061147968
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Joe Hill is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the novels The Fireman, NOS4A2, Horns, and Heart-Shaped Box; Strange Weather, a collection of novellas; and the prize-winning story collection 20th Century Ghosts. He is also the Eisner Award-winning writer of a six-volume comic book series, Locke & Key. Much of his work has been adapted for film and TV, including NOS4A2 (AMC), Locke & Key (Netflix), and In the Tall Grass (Netflix).

Reviews

"The wise guys point out that the literature of horror fantasy tends to be both romantic and conservative. Normalcy is idealized and so precious that its violation is the essence of horror. Joe Hill's sweet, fanged demonology takes us there."--Oregonian
"Fast-paced, well-made, and wonderfully weird."--The Globe and Mail
""Darkly comic in places, touching in others, chilling on occassion..."--Valdosta Daily Times
"A devilish, ingeniously designed story that positions Hill in the same realm as Neil Gaiman, Jonathan Lethem, and Stephen King."--Pittsburgh Tribune
"Hill's survey of the question of suffering is a wild ride, as filled with thrills as his hero's headlong plunge down to a dark and dazzling river."--Seattle Times
"Hill's one incredibly talented writer with a wicked sense of humor and a master's control of pacing."--Bookgasm.com
"[D]evilishly good...Hill is a terrificwriter with a greatimagination. He has a special talent for taking us and his characters to very weird places."--Wilmington News Journal
"[A] compulsively readable supernatural thriller...Hill spins a story that's both morbidly amusing and emotionally resonant. The explanations for Ig's weird travails won't satisfy every reader, but few will dispute that Hill has negotiated the sophomore slump."--Publishers Weekly
"Brilliant in conception...HORNS is a rollercoaster of a work filled with thrills and chills."--Bookreporter.com
"HORNS should bring even more fans to Joe Hill . . . he has his own style, and it is very accessible as well as fast-moving. . . . HORNS is a fast-paced, fascinating murder mystery/love story with a dash of the devil himself to spice things up."--DreadCentral.com [horror entertainment review website]
"A satisfying and entertaining book."--www.npr.org on HORNS
"This is masterful allegory as Hill proves himself...to be a compelling chronicler of human natures continual war between good and evil."--Providence Journal-Bulletin
"As the plot builds through flashbacks and clever exposition, Ig's true nature reveals itself, and the reader is left questioning the traditional border between good and evil....Highly recommended, particularly for fans of Clive Barker and Christopher Moore."--Library Journal
"[Horns is] devilishly good. . . . Hill is a terrific writer with a great imagination. He has a special talent for taking us and his characters to very weird places."--USA Today
"a tight and well-plotted murder mystery, as well as a thoughtful meditation on good and evil....[HORNS] establishes Hill as one of the most clever and talented writers working in the genre."--Charleston Post & Courier
"Horns is not only scary but it's also insightful, often funny and sometimes sweetl romantic."--St. Paul Pioneer Press
"No one working in horror today is more adept than Hill ...His writing is both merciless and compassionate, driving hard toward the painful truth in every story while holding fast to the desires of his protagonist. "--Seattle Post-Intelligencer
"[A] fresh, tough-minded take on what it means to make a deal with the devil and your own worst nature."--San Francisco Chronicle
"On the strength of two masterly thrillers--2007's Heart Shaped-Box and his newest Horns--Hill has emerged as one of America's finest horror writers."--Time magazine
"[HORNS is] a creepy murder mystery, a tragic love triangle, and a sweetly wistful coming-of-age story. It's the kind of book that has you laughing on one page, crying on another and making sure the doors and windows are safely locked on a third."--Miami Herald
"Horns is a pitchfork-packing, prodigal son's take on religion...But the real meat of the story dissects man's relationship with good and evil wihtout sacrificing a bit of suspense...Horns is a mesmerizing page-turner."--Tulsa World
"Horns is dark, twisted, even sometimes funny in a macabre way."--Connie Ogle, "Between the Covers," The Miami Herald
"Horns is a well wrought tale with intellectual merit. Not only are we entertained, we are challenged to think as well."--New York Journal of Books
"Horns is thoroughly enjoyable and often original....a richly nuanced story. Fire and brimstone have rarely looked this good. "--Los Angeles Times