Homely Girl, a Life: And Other Stories

Arthur Miller (Author)


In his long career, Arthur Miller has charted some of the most hidden aspects of the American character, and made us recognize ourselves. With Homely Girl, A Life, he turns his attention to a smaller, more intimate, canvas, but one that in its deceptive delicacy still encompasses a vast range of human fears, ambitions, and desires. Janice--the eponymous homely girl--has hated her face ever since she was a child and her mother held up Ivory Snow advertisements to her, saying, Now that is beauty. Homely she is, but also fiercely herself. Still, it is not until she falls in love with a blind musician that she feels her full nature unfold in this exquisite portrait of a woman finding a language to describe herself.

Flanked by two stories also set in Manhattan, Fame and Fitter's Night, Homely Girl, A Life pays homage to a city constantly reinventing itself--and to the classic Miller themes of work, honor, and identity.

Chekhovian . . . deserves praising to the top of the highest skyscraper for its humanity, wit, depth --A.N. Wilson

Product Details

Penguin Books
Publish Date
January 01, 1997
5.03 X 7.76 X 0.33 inches | 0.22 pounds
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Arthur Miller was born in New York City in 1915 and studied at the University of Michigan. His plays include All My Sons (1947), Death of a Salesman (1949), The Crucible (1953), A View from the Bridge and A Memory of Two Mondays (1955), After the Fall (1963), Incident at Vichy (1964), The Price (1968), The Creation of the World and Other Business (1972) and The American Clock. He has also written two novels, Focus (1945), and The Misfits, which was filmed in 1960, and the text for In Russia (1969), Chinese Encounters (1979), and In the Country (1977), three books of photographs by his wife, Inge Morath. More recent works include a memoir, Timebends (1987), and the plays The Ride Down Mt. Morgan (1991), The Last Yankee (1993), Broken Glass (1993), which won the Olivier Award for Best Play of the London Season, and Mr. Peter's Connections (1998). His latest book is On Politics and the Art of Acting. Miller was granted with the 2001 Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters. He has twice won the New York Drama Critics Circle Award, and in 1949 he was awarded the Pulitzer Prize.