Home Is Where: An Anthology of African American Poetry from the Carolinas

Kwame Dawes (Author)


In Home is Where, Kwame Dawes compiles the work of more than two dozen African-American poets from the Carolinas, showcasing a vast array of original voices writing on subjects ranging from Jim Crow to jazz, haunted landscapes to romantic love--all in an attempt to define the South as home. Dawes, the nationally celebrated poet, dramatist, scholar, novelist, essayist, and founder of the South Carolina Poetry Initiative, edits this new and unparalleled anthology from Hub City Press. The poets range in notoriety, from National Book Award winner Terrance Hayes, PEN American Open Book Award winner Nikky Finney and Ansfield-Wolf Award winner A. Van Jordan, to poets perhaps less recognizable by name, but whose poems you will immediately recognize as powerful, musical, and accomplished. In his introductory essay to the anthology, Dawes proclaims the necessity of this collection, not only for the purposes of getting extraordinary poetry into the hands of readers, but also in terms of the political importance of the voices represented. What is in these pages is nothing less than a significant part of the contemporary poetry scene in America, and also a piece of American history, that in the past has not received its due credit. With Home is Where, that credit is restored.

Product Details

$17.95  $16.51
Hub City Press
Publish Date
November 01, 2011
5.4 X 0.6 X 8.4 inches | 0.57 pounds
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Kwame Dawes is truly a poet with an international voice and a burgeoning international reputation. Dawes was born in Ghana of Jamaican parents and grew up in Jamaica. He spent time as a child in England, and later studied and taught at the University of New Brunswick in Fredericton. He is the founder and lead singer of Ujaama, a reggae band that reunited in 2000 to open the Harvest Jazz and Blues Festival in Fredericton. Now a professor of postcolonial literature at the University of South Carolina, Dawes is a frequent presence on the Canadian cultural scene as a consultant on race relations and the arts, and as a commentator on CBC Radio. Dawes's first collection of poetry, Progeny of Air, won England's Forward Poetry Prize in 1994. Since then, he has published five collections, including the widely praised Resisting the Anomie. Kwame Dawes is also the editor of Talk Yuh Talk, a collection of interviews with Caribbean poets, and Wheel and Come Again, the landmark anthology of reggae poetry.