Heroism Begins with Her: Inspiring Stories of Bold, Brave, and Gutsy Women in the U.S. Military

Winifred Conkling (Author) Julia Kuo (Illustrator)
Available

Description

For fans of Rad American Women A-Z, Rebel Girls, and Women Who Dared comes an inspiring collection of more than 80 profiles about the brave women in the US military who fought hard for their country and even harder for what they believed in.

From the Revolutionary War to present day, women have proudly served in the United States Army, Navy, Air Force, Marines, and Coast Guard as nurses, pilots, engineers, soldiers, and more. They dressed as men, worked for little pay and no benefits, and endured prejudice to break down barriers and earn their place beside their fellow servicemen. The achievements and courageous acts of these women forever changed the way the military operates

From well-known women to unsung heroes, this beautifully illustrated book tells incredible, captivating tales of gutsy women like Margaret Corbin, Harriet Tubman, Tammy Duckworth, and countless others.

And it will prove just one thing: Women really can do anything

--Publishers Weekly

Product Details

Price
$18.99  $17.47
Publisher
HarperCollins
Publish Date
August 06, 2019
Pages
240
Dimensions
7.1 X 0.9 X 9.3 inches | 1.85 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780062847416

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Winifred Conkling is an award-winning author of fiction and nonfiction for young readers, including Passenger on the Pearl, Radioactive!, Votes for Women!, and the middle-grade novel Sylvia & Aki. You can find her online at winifredconkling.com.

Julia Kuo is an illustrator working out of Chicago. She teaches Illustration History at Columbia College Chicago.

Reviews

"It's rewarding to see--in such detail--how women's duties and responsibilities in the military have grown over time. An in-depth examination."--Kirkus Reviews
"A focused look at the long history of women who served their country."--Publishers Weekly
"An important and comprehensive resource. A book to dip in and out of, readers will enjoy the thoroughness of this book. A must-have for all library collections."--Booklist
"Engages readers from beginning to end. Conkling whets readers' appetites to learn more about women and U.S. military history."--School Library Journal