Hector and the Search for Happiness

Available

Product Details

Price
$16.00  $14.72
Publisher
Penguin Group
Publish Date
Pages
165
Dimensions
5.32 X 7.12 X 0.5 inches | 0.31 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780143118398

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Franรงois Lelord has had a successful career as a psychiatrist in France, where he was born, and in the United States, where he did his postdoc (UCLA). He is the co-author of a number of bestselling self-help books and has consulted for companies interested in reducing stress for their employees. He was on a trip to Hong Kong, questioning his personal and professional life, when the Hector character popped into his mind, and he wrote Hector and the Search for Happiness not quite knowing what kind of book he was writing. The huge success of Hector, first in France, then in Germany and other countries, led him to spend more time writing and traveling, and at the height of the SARS epidemic he found himself in Vietnam, where he practiced psychiatry for a French NGO whose profits go toward heart surgery for poor Vietnamese children. While in Vietnam he also met his future wife, Phuong; today they live in Thailand.

Hector and the Search for Happiness is Franรงois Lelord's first novel, and the first in a series that includes Hector and the Secrets of Love and Hector and the Search for Lost Time.

Reviews

"Utterly charming...
"Utterly charming..."Hector and the Search for Happiness" turns psychological research into a fast-paced, enchanting story. Lelord himself is a psychiatrist, and his interest in the human mind is infectious... Fans of "Eat, Pray, Love" and "The Elegance of the Hedgehog" won't want to miss this gem of a book."
-"BookPage"

"Unexpectedly cheering."
-"The Independent" (London)

"Even the most aloof, the most detached reader will be won over by this book."
-"Cosmopolitan" (Germany)

"A feel-good gem . . . Francois Lelord has created a 21st-century hero."
-"Good Housekeeping" (UK)