Hard Cash Valley

Backorder (temporarily out of stock)
1 other format in stock!

Product Details

Price
$26.99  $24.83
Publisher
Minotaur Books
Publish Date
Pages
304
Dimensions
6.3 X 9.5 X 1.0 inches | 1.0 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781250206923

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Brian Panowich is an award winning author, a Georgia firefighter, and a father to four incredible children. His first novel, Bull Mountain, was a Los Angeles Times Book Prize finalist, ITW Thriller Award winner for Best First Novel, Southern Book Prize winner, and a finalist for both the Anthony and the Barry Awards. He lives in Georgia with his family.

Reviews

Advance Praise for Hard Cash Valley

Mr. Panowich, as he did in his previous novels, depicts his Southern terrain well.... There is more mayhem to come, as well as jaw-dropping twists. -- The Wall Street Journal

"Make room for this splendid genre-bender, a crime novel with emotional resonance and a steady flow of fine writing. Plus staggering plot twists, jaw-dropping revelations, and enough suspense to fill two books . . . A first-rate thriller, lavishly decked out in high style." -- Booklist, starred review

"[D]electable rural noir . . . Panowich's prose is languid and easygoing as a back-county road . . . Good rural mysteries excel at showing how both the land and the law that governs it are deeply personal, and Panowich knows the residents of the Georgia foothills down to his bones. Perfect for fans of Attica Locke or Laura McHugh." -- Library Journal (starred review)

"Early in Panowich's gritty, pull-no-punches third thriller set in Georgia's McFalls County (after 2019's Like Lions), two thugs corner Arnie Blackwell, who has just arrived in Jacksonville, Fla., with a suitcase full of cash, in Arnie's motel room . . . The violent search by Arnie's killers doesn't end with his death. The suspenseful plot is enhanced by Panowich's gifts at making even walk-on characters memorable. Fans of Ace Atkins's Quinn Colson series will be pleased." -- Publishers Weekly

"This is country noir with a bite as sharp as a rattler's." -- AARP

Praise for Like Lions

"The action is fierce, the characters are brutal, the dialogue is filthy and the writing is so good it brings hot tears to your eyes." --Marilyn Stasio, The New York Times Book Review

A book filled with unforgettable characters and a tension that heightens with every chapter. --The Wall Street Journal

"Brian Panowich makes a triumphant return to Bull Mountain, Georgia, in his second novel, "Like Lions," as he continues to mix crime fiction with a violent family drama, perfectly melding characters with a sense of place . . . "Like Lions" moves at a brisk clip, leading to a stunning, yet believable, finale." --Associated Press

"A violent, gruesome, sharply focused tale. . . Panowich salts his tale with evocative detail . . . Action and reflection are skillfully balanced in a vigorously written, trenchant tale." -- Kirkus Reviews

This is hillbilly noir at its finest." --Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Brian Panowich's glorious return to Bull Mountain is another sprawling, brutal, no-holds-barred novel that held me in a death grip from page one until it kicked me out of the door with an ending I never saw coming."--C.J. Box
s