Happy and You Know It

Laura Hankin (Author)
Available

Product Details

Price
$26.00  $23.92
Publisher
Berkley Books
Publish Date
May 19, 2020
Pages
384
Dimensions
6.44 X 9.31 X 1.31 inches | 1.25 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781984806239
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Laura Hankin has written for McSweeney's and HuffPost, among other publications. The musical comedy she creates and stars in, both solo and with her duo Feminarchy, has been featured in The Washington Post, The New York Times, Funny or Die, and more. She splits her time between Washington, D.C. and New York City, where she has performed off-Broadway, acted on-screen, and sung to far too many babies.

Reviews

May 2020 Library Reads Pick!

"An engrossing and compelling story of the lengths women will go to convince the world--and themselves--that they're as happy and successful as society expects them to be. It's what would happen if the women from The Nanny Diaries met the women from Sex and the City in the social-media age. I devoured it in less than 48 hours."--Jill Santopolo, New York Times bestselling author of The Light We Lost and More Than Words

"Combines wry humor and sharp social commentary with an utterly addictive plot. It's nonstop fun, and I couldn't put it down."--Katharine McGee, New York Times bestselling author of American Royals

"The perfect mix of frothy fun, twisty mystery and social satire, Happy and Your Know It is a guilty pleasure of a book that is impossible to put down. Laura Hankin creates complex characters with lives that, like their Instagram feeds, are never as they seem. This is the summer read for book clubs, beachgoers and playgroup moms everywhere."--Kristy Woodson Harvey, bestselling author of Slightly South of Simple

"A juicy look at how the other half lives, Happy and You Know It is a page-turning treat in the tradition of The Nanny Diaries and Momzillas. This story of social-climbing and dark secrets heralds a delightful new voice in women's fiction."--Jamie Brenner, bestselling author of The Forever Summer

"Laura Hankin balances a sharp eye for the mad dynamics of a high-stakes playgroup with warm understanding of the occasional desperation of new motherhood. This book is bracing, fresh, and hilarious, like sticking your head in a freezer on a hot day."--Judy Blundell, bestselling author of The High Season

"Hankin has concocted a delicious, rollicking story that features a captivating ensemble of cosmopolitan moms and a down-on-her-luck musician who's paid to entertain their kids. Packed with laughs and unexpected twists, think Liane Moriarty meets Sex and the City--simply irresistible."--Fiona Davis, national bestselling author of The Chelsea Girls

"A skillful unraveling of desperate secrets and self-deceptions. Witty, unsettling, and all-too-believable. I raced through to the end."--Emma Rous, USA Today bestselling author of The Au Pair

"Imagine if your hilarious best friend told you a really juicy story about a gaggle of rich new mothers While also delivering a sharp commentary about the expectations put on women. That is this book. Bonus for the excellent twist you won't be expecting. Put it on your list, kids."--Stephanie Wrobel, author of Darling Rose Gold

"Absorbing"--OK! Magazine

"A dramatic and immensely entertaining page-turner about secrets, lies, and mom culture."--Kirkus

"With deeply drawn and relatable characters, this is an excellent read."--Library Journal