Hand-Me-Down Magic: Stoop Sale Treasure

Corey Ann Haydu (Author) Luisa Uribe (Illustrator)
Available

Description

Meet the best friends at 86 1/2 Twenty-Third Avenue.

DEL loves LOTS of things! The Curious Cousins Secondhand Shoppe. Ginormous family dinners. And of course, her best-friend-cousin, Alma.

ALMA loves her abuelita's tasty empanadas. Her old home by the lake. And soon, she'll love living in the same place as her best-friend-cousin, Del.

Yet despite having Del by her side, Alma isn't quite sure she fits in with their family at 86 1/2 Twenty-Third Avenue. It's a new life and it's all so different. When Del finds a special item at a neighbor's stoop sale, she gets so excited by the magic luck it brings--but doesn't see that it's driving the two best friends apart. Will family, friendship, and maybe a little everyday magic be enough to make things right again?

Brimming with adorable illustrations and short, easy-to-read chapters, this is sure to be an instant favorite for fans of Ivy and Bean and Dory Fantasmagory!

Product Details

Price
$16.99  $15.63
Publisher
Katherine Tegen Books
Publish Date
June 16, 2020
Pages
128
Dimensions
5.7 X 8.3 X 0.7 inches | 0.55 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780062878250

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Corey Ann Haydu is the author of Eventown, The Someday Suitcase, and Rules for Stealing Stars and four acclaimed books for teens. She grew up in the Boston area, earned her MFA at the New School, and now lives in Brooklyn, New York, with her dog Oscar. Find out more at www.coreyannhaydu.com.

Luisa Uribe likes drawing, reading, and chasing the cat around the house. She lives in BogotΓ‘, Colombia, where students (like the Earth Heroes in her book Dear Earth...From Your Friends in Room 5) are helping protect the environment and our natural resources. Of her many illustration projects, her true love is picture books. Luisa was honored with the Dilys Evans Founder's Award at the Society of Illustrators Original Art Exhibit in 2018. You can find more of her wonderful art at www.luisauribe.com.

Reviews

Praise for Eventown "A wonderful and inventive story about being a kid in an imperfect world--beautiful, mysterious, and deeply satisfying."--Rebecca Stead, author of When You Reach Me and Goodbye Stranger
β˜… "At once enchanting, heart-rending, and bittersweet."--Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
β˜… "An emotionally complex and wonderfully told story."--School Library Journal (starred review)
β˜… "[A] thought-provoking novel... [A] memorable and brave heroine."--Publishers Weekly (starred review)
Praise for The Someday Suitcase
β˜… "Quietly superb prose...Haydu doesn't romanticize illness, but she provides comfort through art, science, magic, love, and a purple suitcase."--Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
β˜… "In this moving, exquisitely written story, Corey Ann Haydu explores the thin line between science and magic within an intense bond of friendship."--Shelf Awareness (starred review)
Praise for Rules for Stealing Stars:
β˜… "A well-crafted blend of realism and fantasy."--School Library Journal (starred review)
"Haydu, author of OCD Love Story and other compelling works, offers a pleasing setup in this first volume of a new series. Reading is swift and accessible, broken up by copious cheerful illustrations, and youngsters will long to share in the cousins' idyllic family life while understanding the pitfalls of propinquity."--Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
"A nuanced look at the girls' friendship, emotions, and motivations. A transitional chapter book with unusual depth, good pacing, and a loving, supportive Latinx family. Libraries should find space on their shelves for this new series."--Booklist
"This series debut is a sweet tale about friendship, family, and being the new kid on the block... The line-drawing illustrations throughout give a glimpse of the street where the girls live... Put this book in the hands of kids who enjoy series like Annie Barrows's "Ivy and Bean" or Megan McDonald's "Judy Moody.""--School Library Journal
β˜… "Poignant and powerful. A heartbreaking story about the healing power of friendship amid human fragility."
--ALA Booklist (starred review)
β˜… "[A] lyrical story of love and loss. The way the sisters fight and love in equal measure, as well as their basic need for one another, rings poignantly true in this touching and heartwarming story, which contains a 'tiny bit of magic, right here in the real world."--ALA Booklist (starred review)