Goodbye, Orchid: To Love Her, He Had To Leave Her

Available

Description

Rising from ashes is hard.Giving up the one you love is harder.


Thirty-two year-old Phoenix Walker is an entrepreneur who has built an agency with a heart almost as big as his own. To add to his good fortune, he's falling for Orchid Paige, the beautiful half-Asian marketer who's collaborated with him on a winning military campaign.

They've grown close after months working and traveling together. She's even divulged the trauma in her past that makes her panic over images of injured vets. He's trying not to cross their professional boundary.

Their searing attraction heightens.

Until an accident changes him forever.

Now, he's faced with the hardest decision of his life. Does he burden the woman whose traumatic childhood makes him feel protective of her? Or does true love mean leaving her without explaining why?


American Fiction Award WINNER Urban Fiction


This debut novel by Carol Van Den Hende is inspired by and researched with combat-wounded veterans. A portion of the earnings benefits military personnel and other non-profits.

If you like heart-warming romances and magnanimous heroes, then you'll love this emotionally-charged story. For fans of Me Before You and Fault in Our Stars, Goodbye, Orchid asks...

"What choice does a wounded hero have when loving his woman means breaking his own heart?"

Order your copy of Goodbye, Orchid and immerse yourself in this beautiful love story. Available in Kindle, paperback, and hardcover.

Product Details

Price
$18.95  $17.43
Publisher
Koehler Books
Publish Date
October 01, 2020
Pages
280
Dimensions
5.98 X 0.63 X 9.02 inches | 0.91 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781646631889

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Carol Van Den Hende is an award-winning author who pens stories of resilience and hope. She's also a speaker, strategist, and serves on nonprofit boards. One secret to her good fortune? Her humorous husband, fun-loving twins, and rescue cat, who prove that love really does conquer all.

Reviews

"A richly detailed story of star-crossed lovers . . . all told with unforgettable heart and insight."

-Caroline Leavitt, New York Times Bestselling author of Pictures of You, Cruel Beautiful World and With or Without You

"A book full of soul and heart about love, loss and redefining oneself. I adored this modern, important take on the power of love."-Karin Tanabe, author of A Hundred Suns "Goodbye, Orchid tugs at readers' heartstrings and takes us on an emotional roller-coaster ride through this serious romance, layered with trauma and lost love. The characters-including Phoenix's twin brother and friends-are richly drawn, and the themes are timeless. But it's the story that kept me turning those pages and hoping for a satisfying ending. Van Den Hende did not disappoint."

-Susan Cushman, author of Friends of the Library and Cherry Bomb

"Goodbye, Orchid is a beautiful book, full of deep, thoughtful truths as well as hard-won wisdom for its protagonists. All the characters are richly drawn, and the author never shies away from showing us their flawed humanity. Their individualized and honest perspectives make the journeys as surprising as they are engaging."

-Chris Kipiniak, actor, writer Marvel Comics, The Truth podcast, co-creator BEHEMOTH

"Ms. Van Den Hende tells a heart-pounding story of survival, resilience and true grit."-InD'tale Magazine"An inspiring and explosive novel that shows how two people confront the misperceptions in their lives."

-Larry Kirshbaum, literary agent and publishing advisor

"As a combat decorated and wounded veteran, I was truly captivated by Carol's storytelling. Phoenix Walker captures the mindset, roller coaster and daily heroics of my experience after being injured. All around excellence."

-Doc Jacobs, Bronze Star with Valor and Purple Heart-decorated Navy Corpsman, CEO Doc Jacobs Foundation, author of There and Back Again

"In this most worthy novel, the protagonists' lives are shattered and they re-emerge champions, showing a true test of character. Phoenix is all of us, unconquerable until we're conquered. A tale of sacrifice and rebirth; heroism is in the details."

-SSGT Aaron Michael Grant, author of TAKING BAGHDAD: Victory in Iraq With the US Marines

"Carol Van Den Hende has written a wonderful, heartbreaking yet heartwarming novel, perfect for our times. I couldn't put this book down and was captivated by the main character, CEO Phoenix Walker. I highly recommend reading Goodbye, Orchid, and sharing it with everyone you know."

-Michele Kessler, chief executive officer at REBBL Inc.

"A human drama that traverses every emotion, Goodbye, Orchid reminded me how life can change in a second. It's a beautifully written tale about the power of true love to overcome deep-seated misbeliefs. Phoenix and Orchid's story will forever live in my heart. Highly recommend!"

-Gordana Gehlhausen, Project Runway couture designer