Good Fortune (Reprint)

Noni Carter (Author)
Backorder (temporarily out of stock)

Description

Ayanna Bahati lives in a small African village when she is brutally kidnapped, along with her brother, and forced onto a slave ship to America. As Ayanna, renamed Anna, rises from the cotton fields to the master's house, she finds the familial love she's been yearning for in elderly Mary and Mary's son Daniel--but she is also faced with more threats to her survival. Risking everything to escape the plantation, Anna manages to make it north and to freedom, eventually settling in the free black community of Hudson, Ohio, and educating herself to become a teacher.

In the tradition of Copper Sun and Chains, this is the stirring tale of a girl's journey from Africa to freedom and from youth to womanhood, as recounted in this dazzling debut novel.

Product Details

Price
$12.99
Publisher
Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Publish Date
January 04, 2011
Pages
485
Dimensions
5.62 X 1.35 X 8.21 inches | 0.9 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781416984818
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

NONI CARTER is a 19-year-old honors student who enjoys writing, music and tennis. She is a sophmore at Harvard University. Noni lives in Fairburn, Georgia with her parents, two younger sisters, and an older brother. Good Fortune is her first novel.

Reviews

"Noni Carter was only a child when she first conceived of this story of a young girl's journey from freedom to slavery and back to ultimate freedom--but her debut novel is written with wisdom and heart far beyond her years. Well researched and delightfully well-written, "Good Fortune" is an empowering testament to history that will move readers both young and old." -- Tananarive Due, American Book Award-winning author of "The Black Rose" and "Joplin's Ghost"
"Noni Carter is an old wise soul in the body of a beautiful young woman. She has listened to the elders and the ancestors and brought us a story from the past that gives hope to our present and future. " -- Bertice Berry, author of "Redemption Song" and "The Ties That Bind"
"Few young novelists have the gift, range, and courage to tackle the sin of Slavery. Noni Carter does just that. And she does it well. Read "Good Fortune" and know that she has that rare quality of a natural storyteller--simple, poetic, and intensely emotional. This is extraordinary writing, rich in history, full of triumph." -- Kwame Alexander, author of "Crush: Love Poems", and founder of Book-in-a-Day, Inc.
"Noni Carter is an important new voice in black literature. Get on board now because we'll be hearing from her for a long, long time." -- Reginald Hudlin, producer/director of "House Party" and "Boomerang" and author of "The Black Panther" Series