Glorious

Jeff Guinn (Author)
Backorder (temporarily out of stock)

Product Details

Price
$16.00
Publisher
Berkley Books
Publish Date
May 05, 2015
Pages
432
Dimensions
5.5 X 0.9 X 8.2 inches | 0.7 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780425275429
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Jeff Guinn is the winner of the 2016 TCU Texas Book Award and the bestselling author of numerous works of fiction and nonfiction, including Silver City, Buffalo Trail, Glorious, Manson, The Last Gunfight, and Go Down Together: The True, Untold Story of Bonnie and Clyde. The former books editor at the Fort Worth Star-Telegram and award-winning investigative journalist, he is a member of the Texas Institute of Letters and the Texas Literary Hall of Fame. Guinn lives in Fort Worth.

Reviews

Praise for Glorious

"Glorious has all the elements of a fabulous western: compelling characters, breathtaking scenery, and something more--an unblinking take on the western frontier."--Craig Johnson, New York Times bestselling author of the Walt Longmire mysteries, the basis of A&E's hit series Longmire

"Glorious is old-fashioned in the very best way: It's good-hearted, optimistic, compelling, comfortable, and extremely well told. It's wonderful when an author clearly has an affection for his characters, and readers will feel the same way."--New York Times bestselling author C. J. Box

"I've long admired Jeff Guinn's straight and unfiltered histories of the American icons such as Bonnie and Clyde and the Earps. I was thrilled to know he'd be turning that eye for detail and incredible research to revive the western. Glorious is a blazing return of the American art form, bold, realistic, and a hell of a lot of fun."--New York Times bestselling Ace Atkins

"[Guinn] knows how to dig into the past...An absorbing, informative, and entertaining tale of life, love, hope, and ambition in the American West."--The Dallas Morning News

"An affable...bit of frontier mythmaking...Readers may find by the end that, like Cash McLendon, they've become inexplicably fond of Glorious and its colorful denizens."--The Washington Post

"A worthy addition to the western genre...Catnip for Lonesome Dove fans."--The Seattle Times

"Will delight historical fiction fans longing for the return of classic Westerns. This entertaining outing is sure to keep the saloon doors swinging for more entries in the genre."--Library Journal

"The Wild West comes alive in this novel of prospectors, desolate cavalry posts, rotgut saloons and Apache raiders....The plot is classic...Good fun."--Kirkus Reviews

More Praise for the Cash McLendon Series

"Guinn makes lively characters of historical buffalo hunters, and his imaginative take booms like a Sharps .50 as cultures collide across the Cimarron River...Guinn's research brings to life the daily lives of the Comanche."--Kirkus Reviews

"Full of historical notable figures from the Old West, this second volume in Guinn's trilogy not only provides a buoyant narrative but also several lessons in Western history."--Library Journal

"[A] rousing story of revenge....Plenty of action for genre western fans but enough meat for a broader cut of historical-fiction readers."--Booklist

"This is what Guinn does: Instead of filling his books with the mythology of the Old West, much of which has no basis in fact, he goes for authenticity and reveals what life in those times really was like."--Fort Worth Star-Telegram

"Perfect for fans of John Wayne and Zane Grey...A worthy read for any fan of the Old West. Lively characters, authentic Old West settings, and great storytelling highlight this tale...Silver City is a rousing Western adventure, and one this ol' cowboy fan found very satisfying."--The Oklahoman