Give the Devil His Due

Sulari Gentill (Author)
Available

Product Details

Price
$15.99  $14.71
Publisher
Poisoned Pen Press
Publish Date
January 14, 2020
Pages
400
Dimensions
5.5 X 8.4 X 1.0 inches | 0.9 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781464207037

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

After setting out to study astrophysics, graduating in law and then abandoning her legal career to write books, Sulari now grows French black truffles on her farm in the foothills of the Snowy Mountains of NSW. Sulari is author of The Rowland Sinclair Mystery series, historical crime fiction novels (eight in total) set in the 1930s. Sulari's A Decline in Prophets (the second book in the series) was the winner of the Davitt Award for Best Adult Crime Fiction 2012. She was also shortlisted for Best First Book (A Few Right Thinking Men) for the Commonwealth Writers' Prize 2011. Paving the New Road was shortlisted for another Davitt in 2013.

Reviews

"The relationships of Gentill's well-developed characters continue to evolve as this fine historical series takes a darker tone with the rise of fascism in Europe." - Publishers Weekly
"This is a great addition to a fun Australian mystery series... a fast-paced and captivating novel set during a turbulent period in Australia's history. Containing an intriguing mystery, a unique sense of humour and a range of historical characters, this is a highly recommended read for lovers of Australian fiction.
" - The Sydney Morning Herald
"[D]evil of a good read." - The Herald Sun
"This 1930s Sydney is vibrant and authentic, and the inclusion of a relevant newspaper cutting at the beginning of each chapter is a neat touch... in order to get the best value out of this highly original series with its quirky characters... seek out the earlier titles and follow them in sequence." - Historical Novel Society
"Australian author Gentill's seventh installment featuring Rowland Sinclair (after A Murder Unmentioned) is as fun and consuming as her previous novels. The writing is superb, providing fascinating historical context as well as depth in her characters. Highly recommended for fans of the series and historical crime mysteries." - Library Journal
"For fans of Rhys Bowen, Kerry Greenwood and Jacqueline Winspear comes an adventure-packed romp that threads 1934 Sydney's upper class and its seedy underworld." - Booklist
"This 1930s Sydney is vibrant and authentic" - Historical Novel Society