The Friendship Cure: Reconnecting in the Modern World

Kate Leaver (Author)
Available

Description

Our best friends, Twitter followers, gal-pals, bromances, Facebook friends, and long distance buddies define us in ways we rarely openly acknowledge. But as a society, we are simultaneously terrified of being alone and already desperately lonely. We move through life in packs and friendship circles and yet, in the most interconnected age, we are stuck in the greatest loneliness epidemic of our time. It's killing us, making us miserable and causing a public health crisis. Increasingly, we don't just die alone; we die because we are alone. What if meaningful friendships are the solution?Journalist Kate Leaver believes that friendship is the essential cure for the modern malaise of solitude, ill health, and anxiety and that, if we only treated camaraderie as a social priority, it could affect everything from our physical health and emotional well being. Her much-anticipated manifesto, The Friendship Cure, looks at what friendship means, how it can survive, why we need it, and what we can do to get the most from it. Why do some friendships last a lifetime, while others are only temporary? How do you "break up" with a toxic friend? How do you make friends as an adult? Can men and women really be platonic? What are the curative qualities of friendship, and how we can deploy friendship to actually live longer, better lives?From behavioral scientists to besties, Kate draws upon the extraordinary research from academics, scientists, and psychotherapists, and stories from friends of friends, strangers from the Internet, and her "squad" to get to the bottom of these and other facets of friendship. For readers of Susan Cain's Quiet and Elizabeth Gilbert's Big Magic, The Friendship Cure is a fascinating blend of accessible "smart thinking," investigative journalism, pop culture, and memoir for anyone trying to navigate this lonely world, written with the wit, charm, and bite of a fresh voice.

Product Details

Price
$26.95
Publisher
Harry N. Abrams
Publish Date
October 23, 2018
Pages
304
Dimensions
6.1 X 1.2 X 9.1 inches | 1.2 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781468316599
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Kate Leaver is a journalist who writes about women, pop culture, and mental health. Her work has been published by The Guardian, Glamour UK, British Vogue, Refinery29, The Independent, and J. K. Rowling's Pottermore. She was previously features editor at Cosmopolitan magazine in Australia, where she was born. She is a regular commentator for TV and radio. She lives with her boyfriend and dog in London.

Reviews

A lovely, lively look at the importance of friendship as an antidote to loneliness.--Cathy Rentzenbrink, author of A Manual for Heartache and The Last Act of Love
Kate's mixture of wild and stupendous imagination, emotional intelligence, and honest human approach in her writing strikes chords.--Gemma Cairney
Kate's a brilliant journalist. Her look at friendship as a central component to our increasingly isolated and lonely lives really interests me from a social perspective; why are we so disconnected when we're so connected?
A gorgeous book and a reminder of just how intense and special female friendship is.--Emma Gannon, author of CtrlAltDelete
A wide-ranging exploration of what friends mean to us full of rich personal insights and commonsense, accompanied by a good dose of science.--Robin Dunbar, author of How Many Friends Does One Person Need?
Kate has written a beautiful book about something so specific and unchartered, yet so universal. Friendship can change your life as could this book.--Dolly Alderton, author of Everything I Know About Love
Witty, relatable, thought-provoking. If Jon Ronson and Marian Keyes morphed into one magic person and wrote a book, this book would be it.--Rosie Waterland, author of The Anti-Cool Girl
Friends are a critical component of any person's happiness and deserve to be understood as such. So I'm happy to see that Kate Leaver is dedicating an entire book to the subject of friendship. Give me all the scientific research I can handle on why it's good for me to continue to prioritize my friends--in spite of the various societal pressures telling me otherwise.
Fresh and thought-provoking . . . talks about connection and loneliness in a way we need to hear.
The Friendship Cure is here to make us love our girlfriends all over again . . . you'll want to buy it and give it to all of your friends immediately.