Fox and I: An Uncommon Friendship

Available

Product Details

Price
$28.00  $25.76
Publisher
Spiegel & Grau
Publish Date
Pages
304
Dimensions
6.5 X 9.3 X 1.6 inches | 1.15 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781954118003

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Catherine Raven is a former national park ranger at Glacier, Mount Rainier, North Cascades, Voyageurs, and Yellowstone national parks. She earned a PhD in biology from Montana State University, holds degrees in zoology and botany from the University of Montana, and is a member of American Mensa and Sigma Xi. Her natural history essays have appeared in American Scientist, Journal of American Mensa, and Montana Magazine. You can find her in Fox's valley tugging tumbleweeds from the sloughs.

Reviews

"Fox and I will make you feel deeply about our relationship with animals and nature. After you read this book, you will experience animals in a new and marvelous way."
--Temple Grandin, author of Animals in Translation

"The observations of high-desert nature--of wildlife, plants, landscapes, weather--in this book are some of the best you will ever read. The story of Catherine Raven and the fox's friendship charmed me and drew me in completely."
--Ian Frazier, author of Great Plains

"If Thoreau had read The Little Prince, he would have written Fox and I."
--Yann Martel, author of Life of Pi

"Intimate and poetic .... By paying ecstatic attention to grasses, insects, birds, and animals, Catherine Raven allows us to hear what nature is saying to us. Fox and I is essential reading for anyone concerned about the catastrophe human beings are inflicting on the environment from which they and all other creatures sprang."
--Stephen Batchelor, author of The Art of Solitude

"This tale of wilderness, in the tradition of Thoreau and Steinbeck, is distinguished by a narrator who sees herself as one of the many creatures she lives among .... Catherine Raven has achieved something unique in the literature of nature-writing: genuine love for the wild within the rigor of scientific observation. The voice of this story-teller is startlingly original. I read it breathlessly."
-- Andrei Codrescu

"Fox and I is a mesmerizing, beautifully written, and entirely unsentimental book about the connection among all things: the author and her fox friend, but also magpies, brown dogs, fawns, voles, and junipers. I learned as much about the meaning of friendship from this book as I have from any work of nonfiction that I've ever read."
--Will Schwalbe, author of The End of Your Life Book Club