Four Virginia Poets Laureate(2004-2012): An Anthology & Reader's Guide

Rita Dove (Author) Carolyn Kreiter-Foronda (Author)
& 4 more


The power of the written word can transform the human experience... One of the special roles of poetry is to concentrate observations and their attendant emotions in ways that can be a powerful stimulus to our imagination and helps us to transcend the particular moment of occurrence... The Poets Laureate of Virginia featured in this anthology possess this special gift. Our lives are richer for their dedication to their crafts as well as the insights from their hearts.

- Charles W. Steger, President of Virginia Tech

Product Details

Cedar Creek Pub
Publish Date
February 19, 2013
5.5 X 0.2 X 8.5 inches | 0.3 pounds
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Rita Dove is the recipient of many honors, including the Pulitzer Prize and the Fulbright Lifetime Achievement Medal. A member of the American Academy of Arts and Letters, she is a Commonwealth Professor of English at the University of Virginia and lives in Charlottesville.
Including BEHOLDER'S EYE: POEMS (Groundhog Poetry Press, 2017), Kelly Cherry is the author of 26 books, 10 chapbooks, 2 translations of classical drama. Most recent: Quartet for J. Robert Oppenheimer (poetry). Cherry is former Poet Laureate of Virginia. She is an Emeritus Member, Poets Corner, Cathedral Church of St. John the Divine, NYC. NEA, USIA (the Philippines), Rockefeller, Bradley Lifetime Award, First recipient of the Hanes Poetry Prize from the Fellowship of Southern Writers, three Wisconsin Arts Board Fellowships, Weinstein Award, publication in four Prize anthologies, Phillabaum Award, Dictionary of Literary Biography Award for the best volume of short stories (The Society of Friends: Stories) published in 1999, Walker Award for Lifetime Achievement in Southern Letters; others. She is also the Eudora Welty Professor Emerita of English and Evjue-Bascom Professor Emerita in the Humanities, University of Wisconsin Madison and an Eminent Scholar, UAH, 2001-2005.
Sofia M. Starnes is the author of five poetry collections, including A COMMERCE OF MOMENTS (Pavement Saw Press, 2003), Fully into Ashes (Wings Press, 2011) and Love and the Afterlife (Franciscan University Press, 2012). She also has just completed an anthology, Four Virginia Poets Laureate, 2004-2012: An Anthology and Reader's Guide, compiled at the request of the Poetry Society of Virginia and forthcoming from Cedar Creek Press. In addition to a Fellowship from the Virginia Commission for the Arts, she has received numerous awards for her work, including the Aldrich Poetry Prize, the Transcontinental Poetry Editor's Prize, the Whitebird Poetry Series Prize, the Rainer Maria Rilke Poetry Prize, and the Virginia Writers Club Superior Achievement Award in Poetry. In 2009, she was designated a Distinguished Scholar by Union College (KY). She is listed in Who's Who in America, Who's Who in the World, and Who's Who of American Women. Sofia serves as Poetry Editor of the Anglican Theological Review and mentors other writers through her professional editing service, Creative Writing Critiques. In 2012, she was appointed Poet Laureate of Virginia by Governor McDonnell.