Four Great Americans Washington, Franklin, Webster, Lincoln

James Baldwin (Author)


Four Great Americans is an introduction to four of the greatest Americans; George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, Daniel Webster, and Abraham Lincoln. The stories of each give insight into the trials and successes which helped mold their character and create the successes they eventual became. James Baldwin was an educator and administrator serving as the superintendent of Indiana's school system for eighteen years. He was a widely published textbook editor and children's author of legends, mythology, biography, and literature writing ovef fifty books including Fifty Famous Stories Retold and Abraham Lincoln, a True Life.

Product Details

Bottom of the Hill Publishing
Publish Date
September 01, 2014
6.0 X 0.24 X 9.0 inches | 0.36 pounds
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

James Baldwin (1924-1987), acclaimed New York Times bestselling author, was educated in New York. His first novel, Go Tell It on the Mountain, received excellent reviews and was immediately recognized as establishing a profound and permanent new voice in American letters. The appearance of The Fire Next Time in 1963, just as the civil rights movement was exploding across the American South, galvanized the nation and continues to reverberate as perhaps the most prophetic and defining statement ever written of the continuing costs of Americans' refusal to face their own history. It became a national bestseller, and Baldwin was featured on the cover of Time. The next year, he was made a member of the National Institute of Arts and Letters and collaborated with the photographer Richard Avedon on Nothing Personal, a series of portraits of America intended as a eulogy for the slain Medger Evers. His other collaborations include A Rap on Race with Margaret Mead and A Dialogue with the poet-activist Nikki Giovanni. He also adapted Alex Haley's The Autobiography of Malcolm X into One Day When I Was Lost. He was made a commander of the French Legion of Honor a year before his death, one honor among many he achieved in his life.