Fly on the Wall

Remy Lai (Author)
Available

Product Details

Price
$16.99  $15.63
Publisher
Henry Holt & Company
Publish Date
September 15, 2020
Pages
336
Dimensions
5.7 X 8.1 X 1.3 inches | 1.05 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781250314116

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Remy Lai studied fine arts, with a major in painting and drawing. She was born in Indonesia, grew up in Singapore, and currently lives in Brisbane, Australia, where she writes and draws stories for kids with her two dogs by her side. She is the author of the critically-acclaimed Pie in the Sky and Fly on the Wall. Find out more about Remy on her website and follow her on Instagram.

Reviews

"Funny, enthralling, and a great reminder that being a little odd isn't a bad thing." --Kayla Miller, author of Click and Camp

* Near-misses and laugh-out-loud moments abound, which will endear it to readers who like 'Big Nate' and 'Wimpy Kid, ' but Henry's character development in this illustrated novel leaves Greg Heffley in the dust. Any kid who recognizes that they have weaknesses will identify with and cheer for Henry. --School Library Journal, starred review

* Lai has a talent of not preaching to her readers, instead offering the reassurance that no one is alone in experiencing the painful awkwardness and occasionally harsh realities of growing up. . . This thrilling coming-of-age adventure is both quirky and sincere. --Kirkus Reviews, starred review

* Comics-style artwork gives the book Wimpy Kid flair . . . readers will fall in love with Henry. A smile-inducing crowd-pleaser. --Booklist, starred review

I absolutely loved the storytelling . . . Add in the copious humor (did I mention it's genuinely laugh-out-loud funny?) and remarkable cathartic journey and you've got yourself a winner. Be careful with this book. It's one of the rare titles that will appeal to a wide range of different kind of readers. Don't say I didn't warn you. -- Fuse #8

Praise for Pie in the Sky

A Parents Magazine Best Kids Book of the Year!

A New York Public Library Best Book of the Year!

An NPR Best Book of the Year!

A Horn Book Best Book of the Year!

Pie in the Sky is like enjoying a decadent cake. . . heartwarming and rib-tickling. --Terri Libenson, bestselling author of Invisible Emmie

* "Perfect for fans of Gene Luen Yang and Victoria Jamieson." --Shelf Awareness, starred review

* Like salted caramel, a perfect balance of flavors, this deftly drawn story is a heartfelt treat. --Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Remy Lai seamlessly mixes together equal parts of humor, loss, identity, discovery, and love to create a delicious concoction of a story. . . illustrated beautifully. --Veera Hiranandani, Newbery Honor-winning author of The Night Diary

Uproarious humor and a burgeoning friendship add to the ingredients in this stunning debut. . . a book to be savored - and the illustrations are the icing on the cake. --NPR

* The humor [is] akin to that of Jeff Kinney's popular "Wimpy Kid" series . . . the perfect mixture of funny and emotionally resonant. --School Library Journal, starred review

* Lai imbues this [story] with an undeniable sweetness. --Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, starred review

* A delectable page-turner. . . Heartbreakingly honest; in equal parts funny and poignant. --Horn Book, starred review