Five Things about Ava Andrews

Available

Description

From Margaret Dilloway, author of Summer of a Thousand Pies, comes a heartfelt and funny story about a shy eleven-year-old who learns to manage her anxiety through improv classes--and discovers her activist voice. Perfect for fans of Sharon Draper, Lynda Mullaly Hunt, and Holly Goldberg Sloan.

Eleven-year-old Ava Andrews has a Technicolor interior with a gray shell. On the inside, she bubbles with ideas and plans. On the outside, everyone except her best friend, Zelia, thinks she doesn't talk or, worse, is stuck-up. What nobody knows is that Ava has invisible disabilities: anxiety and a heart condition.

Ava hopes middle school will be a fresh start, but when Zelia moves across the country and Ava's Nana Linda pushes her to speak up about social issues, she withdraws further. So Ava is shocked when her writing abilities impress her classmates and they invite her to join their improv group, making up stories onstage. Determined to prove she can control her anxiety, she joins--and discovers a whole new side of herself, and what it means to be on a team.

But as Ava's self-confidence blossoms, her relationship with Zelia strains, and she learns that it isn't enough just to raise your voice--it's how and why you use it that matters.

--Publishers Weekly

Product Details

Price
$16.99  $15.63
Publisher
Balzer & Bray/Harperteen
Publish Date
June 09, 2020
Pages
320
Dimensions
5.3 X 1.1 X 8.3 inches | 0.85 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780062803498

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Margaret Dilloway lives in San Diego with her husband, a former Army Ranger; their three children; and a goldendoodle named Gatsby, who has his own following. In her spare time, she dabbles in long-form improv, baking, and hiking. She can be found online here: www.margaretdilloway.com.

Reviews

"Successfully explores the complexities of chronic illness mixed with mental illness ... a heartwarming story about a community discovering activism."--Kirkus Reviews
"An excellent selection for book clubs for children, read-together picks, and for anyone who enjoys a good underdog story."--ALA Booklist