Falling Short

Available

Product Details

Price
$16.99  $15.80
Publisher
Quill Tree Books
Publish Date
Pages
304
Dimensions
5.8 X 8.3 X 1.1 inches | 0.85 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780062881724

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Ernesto Cisneros was born and raised in Santa Ana, California, where he still teaches. Efrén Divided is his first book. He holds an English degree from the University of California, Irvine; a teaching credential from California State University, Long Beach; as well as a master of fine arts in creative writing from National University. As an author, he believes in providing today's youth with an honest depiction of characters with whom they can identify. The real world is filled with amazing people with diverse backgrounds and perspectives. His work strives to ref lect that. You can visit him online at www.ernestocisneros.com.

Reviews

With characters so true to life that they practically jump off the page, Falling Short is the perfect balance of humor and heart. If books were basketball, author Ernesto Cisneros just made a slam dunk.--Sarah Scheerger, author of Operation Frog Effect
A beautiful Latinx novel about friendship, determination, and the gift of self-acceptance. Cisneros knocks down a game winner with Falling Short.--Newbery Medalist Matt de la Peña
At every turn, Isaac and Marco support each other in this affirming story of basketball, middle school, friendship, and family, and choosing kindness and determination over easy cowardice or cruelty.--School Library Journal (starred review)
Cisneros always writes characters full of foibles and humor and human warmth, and he really knows his basketball."--Carlos Hernandez, Pura Belpré-winning author of Sal and Gabi Break the Universe
Told through animated alternating first-person chapters, Cisneros's story not only captures the anxiety--and at times, humor--of trying to measure up to expectations, it also tackles delicate subject matter, such as parental absence and alcohol reliance, with profound sensitivity and nuance. A narrative slam dunk for fans of Donna Barba Higuera and Meg Medina.--Publishers Weekly (starred review)
A well-told story of family, friends, basketball, and life.--Horn Book Magazine
In this novel told through the alternating points of view of both protagonists, readers will closely follow the struggles and insecurities both characters experience while also observing a beautiful and endearing friendship. Cisneros has once again written an inspiring story that will have an immense emotional effect on all who read it.--Booklist
Cisneros' touching sophomore novel is an ideal pick for sports fans and will reel in reluctant readers.--Kirkus Reviews (starred review)