Extra Yarn

Mac Barnett (Author) Jon Klassen (Illustrator)
Available

Description

From bestselling and award-winning author Mac Barnett and illustrator Jon Klassen comes Extra Yarn, a Caldecott Honor Book, Boston Globe-Horn Book Award winner, and a New York Times bestseller.

A young girl and her box of magical yarn transform a community in this stunning picture book. With spare, gently humorous illustrations and a palette that moves from black-and-white to a range of color, this modern fairy tale has the feel of a new classic.

Fans of Oliver Jeffers and Peter Brown will love this book.

Product Details

Price
$17.99  $16.55
Publisher
Balzer & Bray/Harperteen
Publish Date
January 17, 2012
Pages
40
Dimensions
10.2 X 0.6 X 8.6 inches | 0.9 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780061953385

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Mac Barnett is the author of the Brixton Brother series and several picture books, including Guess Again! and Chloe and the Lion (both illustrated by Adam Rex), and the New York Times bestseller Extra Yarn. He's on the board of directors of 826LA, a nonprofit writing center, and founded the Echo Park Time Travel Mart, a convenience store for time travelers. Mac lives in Oakland, California.

JON KLASSEN grew up in Niagara Falls and now lives in Los Angeles. He is the Caldecott Medal-winning author and illustrator of I Want My Hat Back, This Is Not My Hat and We Found a Hat, as well as the illustrator of Sam and Dave Dig a Hole and Extra Yarn by Mac Barnett, The Dark by Lemony Snicket, Pax by Sara Pennypacker and The Nest by Kenneth Oppel.

Reviews

"There's nothing to say but--perfect."--Lane Smith, New York Times bestselling author of It's a Book
"Understated illustrations and prose seamlessly construct an enchanting and mysterious tale."--Publishers Weekly (starred review)
"Klassen's deadpan, stylized illustrations impeccably complement Barnett's quirky droll writing."--School Library Journal (starred review)
"Klassen's pacing, especially the mostly wordless sequence when the box floats back to Annabelle on a triangle of an iceberg, is impeccable. The final spread, all light and yarn-covered tree limbs, brings Barnett's clever, quiet yarn full circle, to a little girl and a town, now colorful and happy."--Horn Book (starred review)
"Reading like a droll fairy tale, this Barnett-Klassen collaboration is both seamless and magical. The spare, elegant text and art are also infused with plenty of deadpan humor. Quirky and wonderful, this story quietly celebrates a child's ingenuity and her ability to change the world around her."--Booklist (starred review)