Exposure

Kim Askew (Author) Amy Helmes (Author)
& 1 more
Available

Product Details

Price
$17.95
Publisher
Simon Pulse
Publish Date
January 18, 2013
Pages
224
Dimensions
5.7 X 8.5 X 1.0 inches | 0.9 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781440552618

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Kim Askew, whose work has appeared in Elle and other magazines, is a content manager for the Webby-winning teen site www.FashionClub.com, covering the Teen Choice and MTV awards.


Amy Helmes, coauthor of Boys of a Feather: A Field Guide to American Males, also is a weekly contributor to "The Rundown," a daily e-mail service that keeps subscribers informed on what's new and cool in LA.

Reviews

"Death, betrayal, ruthless plots to seize the 'crown' - all the seeds of stage tragedy take root and flourish in this clever modern-day homage to Macbeth. High school is rife with just enough passion and treachery to set a suitable stage for some Shakespearean-level drama." --Kirkus Reviews

"Fun-filled escapades into Shakespeare's The Tempest and Macbeth . . . they're an absolute riot! You don't have to be a Shakespeare fan (I'm not) or even have read these plays (I haven't) to fall in love with these books. I can't wait for the next Twisted Lit adventure. It's the best new young adult series of the year!" --Jack and Jill Magazine

"Askew and Helmes' adaptation adds a certain zest to the original play. Through well-paced writing, complicated romance, and a relatable protagonist, the reader has the ability to view a literary classic in a new and enjoyable way. I would recommend Exposure to readers that are interested in modern adaptations of Shakespearean plays in the young adult age group." --Blogcritics

"Exposure clicked with me right away. There's a lot to like in this novel...the events fell into place not by design, but as a series of choices, actions, and reactions that led naturally from each other. Equal parts teen drama and classic adaptation, I could definitely see this actually being a movie on par with 10 Things I Hate About You." --Drown My Books

"In the second book of the Twisted Lit series, Kim Askew and Amy Helmes brings an interesting adaptation of Shakespeare's Macbeth. Overall Exposure is a great read. It says so much about ambition, guilt, betrayal, and love in an enjoyable well-paced story that'll definitely leave you satisfied." --SAB Book Reviews

"After reading the witty and enchanting Tempestuous . . . I was beyond excited to read Exposure. Exposure turned out to be a great follow-up novel . . . fun characters, a little romance, and a tad bit of mystery. Exposure is another fast paced and fun read, perfect for fans of Meg Cabot." --Lauren's Crammed Bookshelf blog

"A fun YA twist on Shakespeare in the same modern vein as the movie 10 Things I Hate About You." --Excellent Library blog

"Shakespeare is hot again. Merit Press . . . is basing two of its first five debut releases on Shakespeare retellings. Tempestuous [is] a humorous reimagining of The Tempest. The Twisted Lit novels hope to . . . make Shakespeare more appealing to today's teens. Expect to see Shakespeare throughout all forms of media in 2013 as a new generation of media consumer rediscovers the timeless literary treasures of William Shakespeare." --Forbes.com

"This is an entertaining read.... Readers don't need to be familiar with the play in order to enjoy this, but students who have read it will appreciate the many Shakespearean references throughout." --School Library Journal