Everything Else in the Universe

Tracy Holczer (Author)
Available

Description

A young girl struggles to embrace change in this moving family story set against the backdrop of the Vietnam War. For fans of Jenni Holm and Wendy Mass.

Lucy is a practical, orderly person--just like her dad. But when he's sent to Vietnam to serve as an Army doctor, Lucy and her mother are forced to move to San Jose, California, to be near their gregarious, quirky Rossi relatives. Then her father is injured, and Lucy's mother has her move in with the Rossis to give her father some space to adjust and heal.
Lucy feels pushed aside and left out of everything. Until a curious boy named Milo--whose own father is still in Vietnam-- along with a mysterious packet of photographs and an eye-opening mission make Lucy see there's more to life than schedules and plans, and helps to heal her broken family. The latest from critically-acclaimed author Tracy Holczer is a pitch-perfect middle grade tale of family and friendship that's sure to delight fans of One for the Murphys and Rules.

Product Details

Price
$7.99  $7.35
Publisher
Puffin Books
Publish Date
June 11, 2019
Pages
288
Dimensions
5.1 X 0.9 X 7.7 inches | 0.5 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780147508478

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Tracy Holczer spent her first twelve years in San Jose, California, with her boisterous Italian family. Everything Else in the Universe is a love letter to that family, the pink kitchen where she discovered her nonni's secret ability to infuse food with love, and the San Francisco Bay Area in all its foggy glory. The Secret Hum of a Daisy is her critically acclaimed first novel. A full-time writer, Tracy lives in Los Angeles with her family, one fluffy dog, and four (yes, four!) cats.

Reviews

Praise for Everything Else in the Universe
An ILA Teachers' Choices Reading List - 2019

★"Affectingly tracing Lucy's struggles with her altered family, Holczer also credibly portrays the conflicting views on the war, from protestors to former vets. Well-grounded in its era and peopled by fully realized characters, the book is a resonant historical novel and a thoughtful exploration of how war and injury affect family, friendships, and individual growth." --Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Lucy's adjustments are thoughtfully examined, and her evolving efforts to stabilize her family in general, and her father in particular, are well crafted...Holczer does a fine job of piercing the weight with bits of family levity, and with the ethereal beauty of the dragonflies--Milo's obsession--that flit in and out of the story." --Booklist

"Lyrically written, the novel portrays the war's corrosive, divisive impacts with compassion...A touching, memorable read that explores the costs, large and small, of an unpopular war." --Kirkus

"The novel introduces a nuanced view of the Vietnam War to readers...This is a quiet, tender work of historical fiction about grief, love, and learning to let go...A worthy addition to any middle grade collection." --School Library Journal

"Heartbreakingly poignant...the portrait of two children maturing with grace and tolerance is triumphant." --Horn Book Magazine