Eugene Richards: The Run-On of Time

Lisa Hostetler (Author) April M Watson (Author)
& 1 more
Available

Description

The first publication to situate the work of Richards in the long photographic tradition that merges personal artistic vision with documentary practice

Eugene Richards (b. 1944) is a documentary photographer known for his powerful, unflinching exploration of contemporary social issues from the early 1970s to the present. This handsome book is the first comprehensive and critical look at Richards's lifelong achievements.

Reproduced in tritone and color, the extraordinary images in this volume explore complicated and controversial subjects, including racism, poverty, drug addiction, cancer, aging, the effects of war and terrorism, and the erosion of rural America. The authors of the book situate Richards's work in the long photographic tradition that merges personal artistic vision with documentary practice, following in the tradition of W. Eugene Smith and Robert Frank.

Product Details

Price
$65.00
Publisher
Nelson Atkins
Publish Date
July 11, 2017
Pages
232
Dimensions
11.2 X 1.1 X 11.2 inches | 4.4 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780300227178

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Lisa Hostetler is curator in charge, Department of Photography, George Eastman Museum, Rochester, New York. April M. Watson is curator of photography, The Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art, Kansas City, Missouri.