Emergency Powers: An Imogen Trager Novel

James McCrone (Author)
Available

Description

The accidental president is no accident.

When the president dies in office, FBI Agent Imogen Trager knows that the conspiracy she chased down a blind alley still has life in it-and she needs to get back in the hunt. The old case may be the key to stopping a brutal, false flag terrorist attack meant to finalize the new puppet president's grip on power. Imogen doesn't know it yet, but she's running out of time.

As bodies pile up and leads go cold, the main target from that old case reaches out to her. He's still at large, and now he needs protection. Imogen doesn't trust him, and it's not only because he's offering intel that sounds too good to be true. He's already tried to kill her once.

Set variously in DC, Seattle and small-town America, Emergency Powers is a story of corruption and redemption, achieved at enormous personal cost, with a ripped-from-the-headlines feel: a fractious FBI, an undermined Attorney General, powerful people using all manner of treachery to maintain their hold on power. But it's more than headlines about things people think they know. And darker.

Product Details

Price
$12.99  $11.95
Publisher
Faithless Elector
Publish Date
September 30, 2020
Pages
312
Dimensions
5.51 X 0.65 X 8.5 inches | 0.8 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780999137727

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

James McCrone has an MFA in Creative Writing from the University of Washington, in Seattle. He lives in Philadelphia, PA, with his wife and children

Reviews

"McCrone's research and political insight are an intriguing backdrop to this tale...Great for fans of Brad Meltzer, David Baldacci." - PUBLISHERS WEEKLY


"McCrone excels in crafting the unexpected, not just for Imogen but in the lives and deaths of those surrounding her."

- DIANE DONOVAN, Midwest Book Review


FBI Agent Imogen Trager is "a memorable protagonist-as tough as she is smart. Emergency Powers "has a highly cinematic quality to it, with plenty of action along the way." -KIRKUS REVIEW


"Three tough female characters that steal the show: FBI agents Vega, Sartain, and Trager...These strong women shoulder much of the burden in this novel and deserve a large credit in why it succeeds."

-T. LIEBERMAN, Independent Book Review


"The depth and breadth of research needed to create the believable political and law enforcement scenarios is a testament to McCrone's craftsmanship. The seamless writing doesn't distract from the flow...and readers will enjoy discovering the strengths and flaws of good guys and bad guys alike." -KATE ROBINSON, US Review of Books


"Highly recommended for fans of intelligent thrillers revolving around politics. The writing style is crisp and straightforward, keeping the pace moving swiftly. The mystery is tautly plotted from the first page to the last."- PEN & INK REVIEWS