Elixir Bound

Katie L. Carroll (Author)
Available

Description

Take an epic journey in this award-winning young adult fantasy, winner of Best YA Book for the 2019 Connecticut Author Project! A young woman's quest to become the next guardian of a secret healing Elixir is perfect for fans of Graceling and Finnikin of the Rock.

Katora Kase isn't the firstborn son nor does she possess the type of magic that can conjure spells or bewitch others.
In the land of the Great Peninsula--an epic fantasy world ruled by the Great Mother Nature and her offspring--those things aren't a measure of one's worth. And what Katora does possess is the subtle magic running through her blood that marks her as the next guardian of a secret healing Elixir that is her family's legacy. It is such a highly guarded secret that Katora doesn't know of its existence until a rare snowstorm blows through with a message for her father, the current guardian.

Katora sets off on a quest into the wilds of Faway Forest to find the flowers that give the Elixir its potency. Even though she is accompanied by her sister, her brother, an old family friend, and the handsome son of a mapmaker, she feels alone. For it is her decision alone whether or not to bind herself to the Elixir's magic to serve and protect it until a new guardian is chosen. The forest hosts many dangers, including wicked beings that will stop at nothing to gain power, but the biggest danger Katora may face is whether or not to open up her heart to love.

Product Details

Price
$12.99  $11.95
Publisher
Shimmer Publications, LLC
Publish Date
June 25, 2018
Pages
178
Dimensions
5.98 X 0.41 X 9.02 inches | 0.59 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780998925424
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Katie L. Carroll always says she began writing at a very sad time in her life after her sister Kylene unexpectedly passed away. The truth is Katie has been writing her whole life, and it was only after Kylene's death that she realized she wanted to pursue writing for kids and teens as a career. Since then writing has taken her to many wonderful places, real and imagined. She has had many jobs in her lifetime, including newspaper deliverer, hardware store cashier, physical therapy assistant, and puzzle magazine editor. She works from her home in Connecticut that is filled with the love and laughter of her sons and husband.

Reviews

"Katie L. Carroll uses vivid language to describe the journey through Faway Forest. I could picture the creatures that would have made me stop and run home, forgetting about the Elixir. The characters, especially Katora, are not always brave. They try to be, but have their doubts and sometimes question if they're doing the right thing, like real people do. And until the very end I wasn't sure how the story would turn out. If you enjoy a good fantasy with likeable characters that make you care for them and a situation that could be fatal for them, then pick up a copy of ELIXIR BOUND. You'll be happy you did." YA and MG author Beverly Stowe McClure

"It was completely different from anything I have ever read, and that is saying something.... I loved the characters. I felt a special connection to each and every one of them... My favorite character was Katora because she was strong willed, and wanted to do what was best for everyone. She even put love on hold just so that she could complete her quest for everyone else. I also surprisingly liked her indecisiveness because I would have been the same way, and I love when I can relate to the main character. I also loved Kylene because she was just so sweet. This novel really benefited from her personality." Heather from Owl Nestly Reviews