Edge of Extinction #2: Code Name Flood

Laura Martin (Author) Eric DesChamps (Illustrator)
Backorder (temporarily out of stock)

Description

Perfect for fans of Jurassic Park and Jurassic World! Code Name Flood is the electrifying sequel to The Ark Plan, which School Library Journal praised by saying: "Nonstop action, marauding dinosaurs, and kids on the run: What's not to like?"

Last week, twelve-year-old Sky found a cryptic message from her dad, who mysteriously fled the safety of their underground compound five years ago. The note said the fate of the world depended on her going topside, to a lost world that's ruled by dinosaurs.

Today, after a treacherous journey through the wilderness, Sky and her friends have made it to their destination: Lake Michigan. There they discover a hidden underwater lab, and with the help of its scientists, Sky will finally learn the truth about her father's secret mission.

Tomorrow, it will be up to Sky and her friends to save humanity from the very edge of extinction.

Readers who enjoy middle grade adventures by Brandon Mull and Rick Riordan will love this action-packed story, which takes the premise of Michael Crichton's bestselling classic to a whole new level, envisioning a postapocalyptic future where cloned dinosaurs have taken over and the world's only hope is one group of courageous kids.

--School Library Journal

Product Details

Price
$16.99
Publisher
HarperCollins
Publish Date
May 30, 2017
Pages
352
Dimensions
5.8 X 8.5 X 1.2 inches | 0.9 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780062416254

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Laura Martin is a mom by day and a middle grade author by night, although in her heart she will always be a seventh-grade language arts teacher. After spending six years teaching the fine art of dream chasing as a teacher, she is enjoying every minute of this lifelong dream of being an author. She lives in the Indianapolis area with her family. You can connect with her on Instagram @LauraMartinBooks or at www.lauramartinbooks.com.

Reviews

PRAISE FOR THE ARK PLAN: "In this clever take on Michael Crichton's Jurassic Park, the tale is reimagined on a worldwide scale. Nonstop action, marauding dinosaurs, and kids on the run: What's not to like? This is a great buy for the sci-fi adventure-loving crowd."--School Library Journal
"This gripping survival adventure offers readers a potent mix of creative setting, edge-of-your-seat plotting, and admirable heroes. The world building is particularly strong, balancing the campy, the terrifying, and the dystopian. Perfect for readers who have carried their love of dinosaurs into middle school."--Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
"As a budding Katniss Everdeen--tough, stubborn, resilient, and though new to the bow a quick enough learner by the end to put an arrow through the eye of a ravening spinosaurus--Sky makes a promising protagonist."--Kirkus Reviews
"Martin takes the premise of Michael Crichton's Jurassic Park a step further. A harrowing journey filled with danger, dinosaurs, and surprises. A cliff-hanger ending ensures readers will eagerly await the next installment of this exciting new sci-fi series."--ALA Booklist
PRAISE FOR CODE NAME FLOOD: "This exciting conclusion to Martin's 2-part adventure series will keep readers on the edge of their seats."--ALA Booklist
"Martin continues to delight both dinosaur lovers and techno geeks with her effectively conceived and well-written tales. In this fun and fast-moving sequel to The Ark Plan, the adventure starts with a bang and never stops. An exciting thriller."--School Library Journal