Dread Nation

Available

Product Details

Price
$11.99  $11.03
Publisher
Balzer & Bray/Harperteen
Publish Date
Pages
480
Dimensions
5.2 X 7.8 X 1.2 inches | 0.78 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780062570611

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Justina Ireland is the New York Times bestselling author of Dread Nation and its sequel, Deathless Divide, as well as Vengeance Bound and Promise of Shadows. She is also one of the authors creating the next generation of Star Wars novels entitled the High Republic and is the author of the middle grade Star Wars adventures Lando's Luck, Spark the Resistance, and A Test of Courage. She lives with her husband, kid, and dog in Maryland. You can visit her online at www.justinaireland.com.

Reviews

"This highly anticipated release is getting lauded as equal parts exciting, terrifying, and oh-so-relevant. Crackles on every page."--Brightly
"Ireland delivers a necessary, subversive, and explosive novel with her fantasy-laced alternate history that does the all-important work of exploring topics of oppression, racism, and slavery while simultaneously accomplishing so much more. Brilliant and gut-wrenching."--Booklist (starred review)
"Abundant action, thoughtful worldbuilding, and a brave, smart, and skillfully drawn cast entertain as Ireland (Promise of Shadows) illustrates the ignorance and immorality of racial discrimination and examines the relationship between equality and freedom. Mounting peril creates a pulse-pounding pace, hurtling readers toward a nail-biting conclusion."--Publishers Weekly (starred review)
"Will catch readers off-guard with its blend of genres: it starts out as an historical thriller but then tosses in hard hits of mystery, dystopian reimagining, romance, and humor. Jane's voice reads familiar to more contemporary considerations of Black girlhood, with elements such as beauty standards, colorism, and friendships."--Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books (starred review)
"This absorbing page-turner works on multiple levels: as unflinching alternate history set in post-Reconstruction-era Maryland and Kansas; as a refreshingly subversive action story starring a badass heroine; as zombie fiction suspenseful; and as a compelling exhortation to scrutinize the racist underpinnings of contemporary American sociopolitical systems."--Horn Book (starred review)
"Ireland skillfully works in the different forms of enslavement, mental and physical, into a complex and engaging story. A perfect blend of horrors real and imagined, perfect for fans of The Walking Dead."--School Library Journal (starred review)
"Tremendously original, subversive, sharp, and all around badass, Dread Nation is not your mother's Civil War-era zombie story."--Julie Murphy, #1 New York Times Bestselling author of Dumplin'
"Dread Nation is everything I love--it's beautiful, unflinching, lyrical, tender, and vividly imagined. Don't miss this book!"--Ann Aguirre, New York Times bestseller and coauthor of Honor Among Thieves
"This is the zombie novel I've been waiting for my whole life."--Kate Elliott, New York Times bestselling author of Court of Fives
s