Dough Boys

(Author)
Available

Product Details

Price
$7.99  $7.35
Publisher
Greenwillow Books
Publish Date
Pages
352
Dimensions
5.1 X 7.5 X 1.0 inches | 0.5 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780062691828

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Paula Chase is the cofounder of The Brown Bookshelf, a site designed to increase awareness of African American voices writing for young readers. She lives in Annapolis, Maryland. Her novels include the acclaimed So Done and its companion, Dough Boys. www.paulachasehyman.com

Reviews

"In this follow-up to SO DONE, Paula Chase explores the unraveling friendship of two middle school boys, Rollie and Simp. This unsparing but tender novel takes the reader down some dangerous streets even as it reveals a hopeful world beyond. Chase's writing pops off the page. I loved DOUGH BOYS!"---Barbara Dee, Author of Everything I Know About You
"Chase displays her signature flair for conveying black youths' language of intimacy. . .A thoughtful exploration of the soul-fulfilling heaviness of life in black urban communities."--Kirkus Reviews
"This companion novel to So Done features best friends Rollie Matthews and Simp Wright, whose middle-school basketball coach has begun grooming them to become drug lookout boys. . . . Fans . . . will love the various cameos of familiar characters, but there's universal appeal . . . in this bittersweet look at friendship in the hood."--Booklist
"[Chase] imbues her writing with style and phraseology that paint a vivid picture of this distinct world and the young Black teens who feel the weight of it upon their shoulders. Relatively hopeful endings for both boys . . . wrap up a smart and stirring take on growing up and apart."--Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
"The definitions of bravery and commitment are put to the test for the middle-school duo, as the boys determine where their true loyalties lie. The alternating third-person narratives pull no punches linguistically. . . . Fans of Jason Reynolds and Angie Thomas will enjoy this rough and relatable read, whose conclusion provides no easy answers."--Horn Book Magazine