Don't Turn Around

Jessica Barry (Author)
Available

Description

"Barry's adrenaline-fueled adventure explores the Me Too movement, cancel culture, reproductive rights and white male extremism. Buckle up for a heart-stopping ride."--People Magazine

The riveting follow up to Jessica Barry's debut Freefall--a controversial, of-the-moment thriller about two women fighting for their right to live.

322 miles of road. 6 hours. 2 strangers. 1 killer. Too many secrets.

Midnight. Cait Monaghan and Rebecca McRae are on a desolate road that slices through the New Mexican desert. They've never met before tonight. Both have secrets to protect. Both of their lives are in danger.

When a truck pulls up fast behind them, they assume it's punk teenagers or run-of-the-mill road rage, but it soon becomes clear that whoever is driving the truck is hunting them for sport--and they are out to draw blood.

As the miles unspool and the dangers mount, the pasts they've worked so hard to keep buried have come back to haunt them. Someone wants one of them dead. But which one? And given the lives the two women have been leading, that someone could be almost anyone.

If Cait and Rebecca are going to survive, they'll have to learn to trust one another--and themselves. But trust is a costly business, and they've both paid the price before. . . .

Product Details

Price
$27.99  $25.75
Publisher
Harper
Publish Date
June 16, 2020
Pages
320
Dimensions
6.3 X 1.3 X 9.2 inches | 1.05 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780062874863

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Jessica Barry is a pseudonym for an American author who grew up in a small town in Massachusetts and was raised on a steady diet of library books and PBS.

She attended Boston University, where she majored in English and Art History, before moving to London in 2004 to pursue an MA from University College London.

She lives with her husband, Simon, and their two cats, Roger Livesey and BoJack Horseman.

Reviews

Praise for Freefall by Jessica Barry: "Jessica Barry's Freefall is not only an enthralling, impossible-to-put down mystery that keeps the pages flying, but it is also a gorgeous, resonant tale of a mother's unconditional love for her daughter. I could not recommend this more!"--Aimee Molloy, New York Times bestselling author of The Perfect Mother
"Freefall is an electric mix of action and emotional drama that never stops, never slows down."--Liv Constantine, national bestselling author of The Last Mrs. Parrish
"A brilliant, addictive page-turner with sharply drawn, dueling mother-daughter narrators who you will root for and empathize with as they struggle to survive their harrowing present, come to terms with a troubled past and fight to find their way home."--Kimberly McCreight, New York Times bestselling author of Reconstructing Amelia and Where They Found Her
“This psychological thriller is perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Clare Mackintosh.”--Publishers Weekly
“Barry's debut novel will keep readers guessing to the end, and fans of Lisa Jackson and Lisa Scottoline will enjoy this thriller written with a focus on family relationships...this debut will be everywhere.”--Booklist
“This tightly paced thriller also deftly examines the complexity of the mother-daughter bond.”--Crime Reads
“Jessica Barry's debut novel opens at full throttle and never lets up...Set aside a few hours before you open this book...once you start reading, you won't want to stop.”--International bestselling author Karin Slaughter
“A gripping page-turner. Freefall is exactly what a great thriller should be.'--Renee Knight, international bestselling author of Disclaimer
“An absorbing treat.”--People
“The corporate malfeasance and shady conspiracies of John Grisham, with the frank feminism of two rounded female protagonists.”--Entertainment Weekly
"A novel like razor-wire: elegant, sinister, bristling with hooks. Who is the predator -- and who is the prey? Is the danger behind you, a pair of headlights on that lonely highway... or right beside you, gripping the wheel with white knuckles? As you race down the roads that slice across Jessica Barry's American Southwest, you might catch a glimpse of the desperate fugitives from No Country for Old Men, or the wayward college kids of Joyride, -- but Don't Turn Around is very much an original vehicle, part chase thriller, part psychological suspense, altogether audacious, wholly ingenious."--AJ Finn, author of #1 New York Times bestseller The Woman in the Window
"Jessica Barry has written a grab-you-by-the-throat novel of suspense that follows the trail of two women pushed to the extreme. Don't Turn Around is the female-driven thriller you've been waiting for. "--Danielle Trussoni, New York Times bestselling author of Angelology
"Barry's electric, perfectly paced tale reads like the gritty lovechild of Thelma and Louise and Spielberg's Duel, and readers will cheer for Cait and Rebecca all the way to the end of the road. An action-packed and fiercely feminist big-screen-ready chiller." --Kirkus Reviews
"Gripping ....This action-packed story will keep readers riveted."--Publishers Weekly
"Barry follows Freefall (2019) with a second propulsive psychological thriller, this time featuring two female characters who find themselves fighting for survival on a terrifying drive through the New Mexican desert. . . .. Barry delivers hold-your-breath tension, while also addressing highly controversial and relevant women's issues."--Booklist