Dollbaby

Available

Product Details

Price
$17.00  $15.64
Publisher
Penguin Books
Publish Date
Pages
352
Dimensions
5.2 X 7.9 X 0.8 inches | 0.7 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780143127499

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Laura Lane McNeal grew up in New Orleans, where she lives today with her husband and two sons. She graduated from Southern Methodist University. She also has an MBA from Tulane and ran her own marketing consulting firm in New Orleans. This is her first novel.

Reviews

"In this tender coming-of-age novel, McNeal brings to life a place, an era, and an amazing cast of strong, larger-than-life characters. Heartrending, captivating, and ultimately, triumphant."
--Cassandra King, New York Times bestselling author of Moonrise

"McNeal's Dollbaby is such an impressive debut--a powerful roux of family drama, long-simmering secrets and resentments, and ultimately, forgiveness and redemption. Deeply evocative, with memorable characters, Dollbaby belongs on the keeper shelf along with The Help and The Secret Life of Bees."
--Mary Kay Andrews, New York Times bestselling author of Ladies' Night

"Deeply southern and evocative, Laura Lane McNeal's beautifully written debut, Dollbaby, takes us back to a not-so-long ago time when we were learning to look through different eyes at the fabric of our society, race, youth and family."
--Susan Crandall, author of Whistling Past the Graveyard

"This flavorful and enthralling novel brilliantly captures New Orleans during the civil rights era. It's a deeply personal tale about growing up and searching for family as well as a provocative exploration of race and kinship. I found it both thrilling and poignant."
--Walter Isaacson, New York Times bestselling author of Steve Jobs

"There is plenty of mystery and deception in Dollbaby, but the prevailing theme is love and its power to blast away even the biggest betrayals. Reading this evocative Southern novel is like alternately sipping sweet tea and healthy snorts of bournon."
--Lorna Landvik, bestselling author of Patty Jane's House of Curl

"Don't be surprised if you see McNeal's book in a lot of beach totes along the Gulf Coast this summer."--New Orleans Times Picayune

"When someone asks you for a great book to read, usually you pause and think about genre and authors and then give a few options. But every now and then there's a book you tell everyone to read, because it is that good. Dollbaby by Laura Lane McNeal is that book." --Durham Herald-Sun

"A vivid portrayal of post-war New Orleans, lush and evocative in its descriptions, McNeal's unique voice shines through surprising and pleasing the reader. Fans of Pat Conroy and Sue Monk Kidd will enjoy this new Southern talent." --Library Journal (starred review)

"In the vein of Saving CeeCee Honeycutt and The Help, McNeal's touching coming-of-age tale brings to life Civil Rights-era New Orleans. . . . Rich characterization makes McNeal's debut a lovely summer read."--Kirkus

"A touching coming-of-age story that is sincere and poignant."--Booklist

"McNeal's witty prose and expertise on all things New Orleans will enrapture readers of The Help and Divine Secrets of the Ya Ya Sisterhood."--BookPage

"Beautifully rendered and perfectly paved, Dollbaby is one novel this year not to be missed, with just the right amount of mystery mixed with coming of age drama."--Book Reporter
s