Deacon Locke Went to Prom

Backorder (temporarily out of stock)

Product Details

Price
$17.99
Publisher
Katherine Tegen Books
Publish Date
Pages
400
Dimensions
5.8 X 8.5 X 1.3 inches | 1.0 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780062422521

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Brian Katcher is the author of the Stonewall Book Award-winning novel Almost Perfect, Playing with Matches, and Everyone Dies in the End. He lives in central Missouri with his wife, Sandra, and his daughter, Sophie. When he's not writing, he's working as a school librarian and a member of the Forever Young Adult blogging group.

Reviews

"Deacon Locke Went to Prom had me shimmying with delight. A wonderful and surprisingly poignant story about family, friends, and finding yourself."--Elizabeth Eulberg, author of BETTER OFF FRIENDS
"Part comedy of errors, part coming of age, this novel is so funny and touching I can't imagine anyone reading it without a huge smile on their face."--Bret Hartinger, author of THE GEOGRAPHY CLUB and THREE TRUTHS AND A LIE
"Only a character like Deacon could teach us that grandmothers make the best friends (and prom dates), that stars in the sky shine far brighter than pseudo-celebs, and that the most beautiful dances are the ones we improvise along the way."--Holly Schindler, author of SPARK
"An outstanding feel-good story. Brims with humor, heart, and hope."--Anthony John, author of THOU SHALL NOT ROAD TRIP
"There is something very sweet and nerdy about the entire premise of the story, where the upside-down rules of cosplay and gaming conventions like Washingcon allow the outsiders to be heroes."--Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)
"Fans of Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist will find con-tentment here."--Kirkus Reviews
"A zany romantic comedy for pop culture geeks and 'Con' enthusiasts."--School Library Journal
"A nerd-friendly adventure story with a gooey, sweet romance center."--Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
"A sweet lesson on staying true to oneself."--Kirkus Reviews
"Deacon is a likeable narrator, full of self-deprecating humor."--Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)
"Katcher's multifaceted novel is about more than a school dance, delving into discrimination, dementia, and the perils of online fame... Deacon's entertaining commentary keeps the overall tone thoughtful, upbeat and hopeful."--Publishers Weekly