Day Zero

Kelly Devos (Author)
Available

Description

Don't miss the exhilarating new novel from the author of Fat Girl on a Plane, featuring a fierce, bold heroine who will fight for her family and do whatever it takes to survive. Fans of Susan Beth Pfeffer's Life As We Knew It series and Rick Yancey's The 5th Wave series will cheer for this fast-paced, near-future thrill ride.

If you're going through hell...keep going.

Seventeen-year-old coder Jinx Marshall grew up spending weekends drilling with her paranoid dad for a doomsday she's sure will never come. She's an expert on self-heating meal rations, Krav Maga and extracting water from a barrel cactus. Now that her parents are divorced, she's ready to relax. Her big plans include making it to level 99 in her favorite MMORPG and spending the weekend with her new hunky stepbrother, Toby.

But all that disaster training comes in handy when an explosion traps her in a burning building. Stuck leading her headstrong stepsister, MacKenna, and her precocious little brother, Charles, to safety, Jinx gets them out alive only to discover the explosion is part of a pattern of violence erupting all over the country. Even worse, Jinx's dad stands accused of triggering the chaos.

In a desperate attempt to evade paramilitary forces and vigilantes, Jinx and her siblings find Toby and make a break for Mexico. With seemingly the whole world working against them, they've got to get along and search for the truth about the attacks--and about each other. But if they can survive, will there be anything left worth surviving for?

Product Details

Price
$18.99  $17.47
Publisher
Inkyard Press
Publish Date
November 12, 2019
Pages
432
Dimensions
5.81 X 1.44 X 8.5 inches | 1.1 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781335008480

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Kelly deVos is from Gilbert, Arizona, where she lives with her high school sweetheart husband, amazing teen daughter and superhero dog. She holds a B.A. in Creative Writing from Arizona State University. When not reading or writing, Kelly can typically be found with a mocha in hand, bingeing the latest TV shows and adding to her ever-growing sticker collection.

Reviews

Day Zero is a fascinating, fast-paced thriller set in an all-too-believable near future. A riveting story full of twists and turns, a relatable, realistic heroine, and complex political action that leaves the reader thinking. Don't miss this memorable, refreshing book. -Adrianne Finlay, Author of Your One and Only

Gripping, bold, and infused with real heart, once again deVos delivers the kind of norm-bending, badass heroine teens need now more than ever. -Jessie Hilb, author of The Calculus of Change

A high-octane thrill ride through Jinx's evolution from a passive high schooler to a kick-ass political revolutionary bent on revenge and social change.-Laurie Forest, author of the Black Witch Chronicles

Day Zero is an ambitious, caffeine-infused buzz-ride! Jinx is an endearing heroine and her journey from passive teen to political revolutionary in a dangerous time is poignant and powerful.-Nancy Richardson Fischer, author of The Speed of Falling Objects

In this gripping tale of heart and adventure, deVos propels her characters into a breathless quest edged by thoughtful commentary on the nature of humanity. Day Zero is a book placed in a dystopian future, with true relevance to today.-Laura Taylor Namey, author of The Library of Lost Things

A compelling, action-packed story about family ties, politics, and revolution.-Kirkus Reviews