Cyclopedia Exotica

Available

Product Details

Price
$24.95  $22.95
Publisher
Drawn & Quarterly
Publish Date
Pages
268
Dimensions
6.5 X 8.1 X 1.0 inches | 1.3 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781770464377
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Aminder Dhaliwal grew up in Brampton, Ontario and received a Bachelors of Animation from Sheridan College. She has worked as Director at Disney TV Animation, Storyboard Director at Cartoon Network, and Storyboard Director on the Nickelodeon show Sanjay and Craig. Her first book with D+Q, Woman World, was serialized on Instagram beginning in March 2017 and garnered over 250,000 followers. Woman World appeared on 25 best of the year lists, was nominated for the Eisner, Ignatz, Harvey, Ringo, and Doug Wright Award, and was named a YALSA Great Graphic Novel for Teens. It has been optioned for television by Felicia Day. Dhaliwal lives in Los Angeles.

Reviews

In the new graphic novel Cyclopedia Exotica, immigrants with one eye coexist uneasily with their two-eyed neighbors.... Cyclops deal with being perceived as overly submissive, the lack of cyclops representation in Hollywood movies, and worries about whether mixed children will have one eye or two... It's resonating with [Aminder Dhaliwal's] thousands of Instagram followers.--Robert Ito, The New York Times

"Fans of Jillian Tamaki's SuperMutant Magic Academy and Kate Beaton's work will find much common ground here."--Carmen Maria Machado, author of In The Dream House

This delightful satiric graphic novel centers very real explorations of race, xenophobia, visibility, tokenism and assimilation.--Karla Strand, Ms. Magazine

[Cyclopedia Exotica] examines the interior lives of a cyclops community living among the two-eyed, providing nuanced commentary on microaggressions and discrimination toward immigrants.--Bustle

The lives of ten characters in the same city intertwine as each grapples with living in an otherized body. Their physical differences are fetishized, marketed to, discriminated against, and misunderstood, as bodies are in our own world. What to do when people see your single eye but not yourself? Rage about it, laugh about it, make art about it, and work to change the world for the better. Aminder Dhaliwal is such a deft and clever storyteller! This book made me giggle and made me think, and it fueled my own determination to continue pushing for real social change. --Maia Kobabe, author of Gender Queer: A Memoir

Unflinching satire, eye brow-waggling commentary, and thought-provoking pearls on the topic of those who occupy marginalized identities. I didn't expect to laugh out loud at a complicated depiction of people at war with themselves and with everyone else, as they try to assimilate (or stand apart). For anyone who has experienced the turbulence and pride of being "othered" in a dominant society, Cyclopedia Exotica will serve you equal parts reassurance and wistful pain.
--Hellen Jo, Cartoonist, Illustrator, and Translator of Uncomfortably Happily

Playful and provocative. A delightful delve into the lives of the not-so-monstrous!
--Felicia Day, Actor, Writer, Producer

As the immigrant cyclops navigate their world, Dhaliwal uses humour and spot-on cultural references to address themes of race, xenophobia, beauty ideals, and our desire to belong.
--Quill & Quire, 2021 Spring Preview

Cyclopedia Exotica is dedicated "to those who don't feel seen," and the nature of the cyclops inspires irresistible metaphors around eyes, being seen, and who owns society's gaze. --Publishers Weekly