Creatures of Charm and Hunger, Volume 3

Molly Tanzer (Author)
Available

Description

"A compelling, fun, and thought-provoking story of magical adventure, coming of age, sacrifice, and family, with secrets that add a lingering darkness to the entire tale."--Booklist

Two young witches, once inseparable, are set at odds by secrets and wildly dangerous magic.

In the waning days of World War II, with Allied victory all but certain, desperate Nazi diabolists search for a demonic superweapon to turn the tide. A secluded castle somewhere in the south of Germany serves as a laboratory for experiments conducted upon human prisoners, experiments as vile as they are deadly.

Across the English Channel, tucked into the sleepy Cumbrian countryside, lies the Library, the repository of occult knowledge for the Société des Éclairées, an international organization of diabolists. There, best friends Jane Blackwood and Miriam Cantor, tutored by the Société's Librarian--and Jane's mother--Nancy, prepare to undergo the Test that will determine their future as diabolists.

When Miriam learns her missing parents are suspected of betraying the Société to the Nazis, she embarks on a quest to clear their names, a quest involving dangerous diabolic practices that will demand more of her than she can imagine. Meanwhile Jane, struggling with dark obsessions of her own, embraces a forbidden use of the Art that could put everyone she loves in danger.

As their friendship buckles under the stress of too many secrets, Jane and Miriam will come face to face with unexpected truths that change everything they know about the war, the world, and most of all themselves. After all, some choices cannot be unmade--and a sacrifice made with the most noble intention might end up creating a monster.

Product Details

Price: $16.99  $15.63
Publisher: John Joseph Adams/Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Published Date: April 21, 2020
Pages: 320
Dimensions: 5.5 X 0.8 X 8.0 inches | 0.5 pounds
Language: English
Type: Paperback
ISBN: 9780358065210
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

MOLLY TANZER is the British Fantasy and Locus Award-nominated author of The Diabolist's Library series: Creatures of Will and Temper, Creatures of Want and Ruin, and Creatures of Charm and Hunger. She's also the author of the weird western Vermilion as well as many critically acclaimed short stories. She resides in Boulder, Colorado.

Reviews

"Enthralling . . . Tanzer captures both the atmosphere of the novel's gritty, war-torn world and the adolescent voices of her struggling protagonists. Moral ambiguity abounds in this dark, captivating coming-of-age fantasy that expertly depicts the painful loneliness of growing up and apart. Series fans and new readers alike will be entranced."
--Publishers Weekly, starred review

"A compelling, fun, and thought-provoking story of magical adventure, coming of age, sacrifice, and family, with secrets that add a lingering darkness to the entire tale . . . an excellent choice for fans of Seanan McGuire, Alma Katsu, and Erin Morgenstern."
--Booklist

For the YA reader, Booklist has this to say: "a perfect choice for teens, especially those who enjoy dark fantasy with detailed worldbuilding."

"This companion to Tanzer's other two Creatures novels (Creatures of Want and Ruin, 2018, etc.) dives deeper into the diabolists' world and their magical sciences. Familiarity with the previous books is unnecessary to enjoy this well-written, fun, and thoughtful tale of evil Nazi plots, body-snatching behind enemy lines, magical libraries, complicated parental relationships, deep-seated prejudices, and suspicious felines. An enticing genre mashup. Horror, sci-fi, and fantasy readers alike will find something to love and someone to root for."
--Kirkus Reviews