Come West and See: Stories

Available

Product Details

Price
$25.95
Publisher
W. W. Norton & Company
Publish Date
Pages
240
Dimensions
5.5 X 0.9 X 8.5 inches | 0.75 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780393635584
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Maxim Loskutoff is the critically acclaimed author of the story collection Come West and See. His stories and essays have appeared in numerous periodicals, including the New York Times, Chicago Tribune, Ploughshares, and the Southern Review. He lives in western Montana.

Reviews

Loskutoff writes a good sentence [and] has a fine eye for the meaningful detail...A welcome arrival.
Maxim Loskutoff highlights life on the other side--the disenfranchised, angry, sullen, rebellious, gun-packing side. See them attempt to create a homeland of their own.--William Kittredge, author of Hole in the Sky
Violence waits for its moment in the quietest of lives, and Loskutoff shows us that we had better face it and do our best to understand it. A tough, human work of fiction.--Tom Bouman, author of Fateful Mornings and Dry Bones in the Valley
Perhaps the most tragic aspect of Loskutoff's characters is that even as they are drawn into the psychological vortex of the Redoubt, they know that the rebellion is futile. . . They have nothing to lose, and so they look for something, anything to believe in.
The strongest characters in this book are the ones who are most adrift, most ready to latch onto whatever comes next, and this makes them both tragic and dangerous ... If there is a great novel to be written about the life of the 21st century interior northwest, then Maxim Loskutoff is a prime candidate to author it.
Fans of Cormac McCarthy and Russell Banks will find plenty to like in Loskutoff's fresh voice and keen instincts for drama. ... [T]he language is crisp and often thrilling in its plainspoken eloquence.
A blazing new and original talent. ... [Loskutoff's stories] vividly expose escalating resentments with extraordinary eloquence and compassion.
Devastating ... grows increasingly bizarre and haunting until it's left an indelible mark.--Janet Maslin
At its fiery center, Loskutoff's humans are caught in brutal personal crossfires: a fraying couple trying to save their injured pet coyote, a woman plotting to murder a tree, a militiaman's wife who blames his death on her sin of self-pleasure ... in Loskutoff's blade-sharp prose.
A new kind of American Western. This book climbs into the heads of its characters, pokes at their insecurities with a sharpened stick, then reaches out a hand to invite you in.--Jolie Myers, editor, All Things Considered