Code Word Access, Volume 1

Alex Schuler (Author) Rolf Yngve (Author)
Pre-Order   Ships Feb 09, 2021

Description

The future is in code.

Shawn Muller is a prodigy and he knows it. It's 2051 and the militarized AI he created to hunt terrorists has begun to dominate the network that controls everything from traffic to climate. Fearful of the power of the AI he calls "Lazy Jack" and the politicians who will use it, Shawn installs an algorithm to give his creation a system of ethics.

But when that very ethical standard causes Lazy Jack to declare Shawn a profound threat to society, he is forced into terrified flight to avoid summary execution as a terrorist.

Off the grid for the first time in his twenty-seven years, Shawn will find himself pursued not only by his creation and the government it has started to control, but also by the shadowy elements of society that reject domination by AI. Captured by the outlawed Organites, Shawn falls into the hands of their charismatic captain, Destiny.

Born to be enemies, Shawn and Destiny discover that their lives and the survival of their worlds are inextricably linked. Together with a host of unforgettable characters, they will struggle to bring down the system Shawn thought would save the world, leading them to face one of the most profound questions of human existence: Will we or will our creations decide what is right and what is wrong?


"The main character, Shawn Muller is extremely complex and well developed. The dialogue is excellent. I was totally engaged the whole time. Clever, unique..." - ScreenCraft


Fans of Terminator and Total Recall will love this "extremely well-executed" book. (Screencraft.)

Product Details

Price
$18.95  $17.43
Publisher
Level 4 Press
Publish Date
February 09, 2021
Pages
388
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781933769820

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Following a career as a pilot in the US Navy, Alex began developing artificial intelligence software for the commercial and defense sectors, while enjoying writing books that explore the ethical and philosophical implications of technology through engaging science fiction and behind-the-scenes examinations of the people behind today's most sophisticated, and potentially dangerous, technology. An early fan of Star Trek (the original, of course), The Outer Limits, and Sigourney Weaver in the Alien movies, you might find Addison wandering the halls of ComicCon or reading a great SciFi book under redwood trees. Which book? Maybe Dune (Frank Herbert) or Stranger in a Strange Land (Robert Heinlein).