Clash of Civilizations Over an Elevator in Piazza Vittorio

Amara Lakhous (Author) Ann Goldstein (Translator)
Available

Product Details

Price
$14.95  $13.75
Publisher
Europa Editions
Publish Date
September 30, 2008
Pages
131
Dimensions
5.3 X 0.6 X 8.2 inches | 0.4 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781933372617
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Amara Lakhous was born in Algiers in 1970. Clash of Civilizations Over an Elevator in Piazza Vittorio won Italy's prestigious Flaiano Prize and prompted the critic Carlin Romano to ask in the Philadelphia Inquirer, "Do we have an Italian Alberto Camus on our hands?." Lakhous is also the author of Divorce Islamic Style and Dispute Over a Very Italian Piglet.

Ann Goldstein is an editor at The New Yorker. Her translations for Europa Editions include novels by Amara Lakhous, Alessandro Piperno, and Elena Ferrante's bestselling My Brilliant Friend. She lives in New York.

Reviews

Praise for Clash of Civilizations Over an Elevator in Piazza Vittorio

"Recalls Naguib Mahfouz's epic about slices of Egyptian popular life in the 'The Cairo Trilogy' of the 1950s. The rich variety of characters and psychological understanding place Mr. Lakhous in the tradition of Balzac and Dickens."
--The Washington Times

"The author's real subject is the heave and crush of modern, polyglot Rome, and he renders the jabs of everyday speech with such precision that the novel feels exclaimed rather than written."
--The New Yorker

"Intriguing psychological and social insight alongside a playful whodunit plot, exposing the power of fear, racial prejudice and cultural misconception to rob a neighborhood of its humanity."
--Publishers Weekly

"No recent Italian novel so elegantly and directly confronts the 'new Italy.'"
--Philadelphia Inquirer

"What's memorable about Lakhous' novel is what he shows us of an often inward-looking nation confronting the teeming vibrancy of multicultural life."
--NPR's Fresh Air

"A satirical, enigmatic take in the racial tensions that afflict present-day Europe."
--Brooklyn Rail