City of Dragons: A Miranda Corbie Mystery

Available

Product Details

Price
$22.99  $21.15
Publisher
St. Martins Press-3PL
Publish Date
Pages
335
Dimensions
5.5 X 1.1 X 8.4 inches | 0.95 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780312668792

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

KELLI STANLEY's first novel in the 1940 San Francisco-set Miranda Corbie series, CITY OF DRAGONS, was met with overwhelming critical acclaim and was a finalist for the prestigious Los Angeles Times Book Prize. Stanley also writes a highly-praised series set in Roman Britain, the latest of which is THE CURSE-MAKER. Her debut novel, NOX DORMIENDA, won the Bruce Alexander Award for best historical mystery of 2008. She makes her home in Dashiell Hammett's San Francisco, earned a Master's Degree in Classics, and loves jazz, old movies, fedoras, Art Deco and speakeasies.

Reviews

""City of Dragons" is a joy to read." --Tom Nolan, "San Francisco Chronicle" "Think Barbara Stanwick meets Myrna Loy, then toss in a hard-boiled crime story worthy of Raymond Chandler."--"Library Journal "(starred) "Impressive...Stanley's hard-boiled, strong female sleuth stalks Hammett's San Francisco and does the job with all the panache of Sam Spade. Readers will eagerly await the next installment in this exciting new series." --"Booklist "(starred) "Riveting...a wonderful start to what should be a long-running series." --Oline H. Cogdill, "Sun-Sentinel" "A winner...The noir atmosphere of 1940s San Francisco is brilliantly recreated - terrific."--"Romantic Times "(4 1/2 stars)
"Beautifully imagined and beautifully written--this book does everything great fiction is supposed to."
- Lee Child "A stunning recreation of time and place that I greatly enjoyed...as will everyone who reads it."
- Robert B. Parker
"Big and ambitious, both reverent and original. Author Kelli Stanley has her eye on greatness."- George Pelecanos
"A powerful crime novel that perfectly captures the noir mood of San Francisco in the 40's. Stanley's dialogue bristles with attitude, the atmosphere is thick as the bay fog, and her protagonist is a great new dame in crime fiction. A smart, stunning thriller."
- Linda Fairstein
"Evocative and taut...bursts with dark atmosphere. Fans of Raymond Chandler and Megan Abbott should add Stanley to their list of must-read authors."
- Tasha Alexander
"Blew me to ribbons. From the opening chapter, we're rooting for Miranda, a marvelous, feisty, compassionate heroine who is my favorite P.I. to come down the mean streets in oh, so long. Polish up the Shamus, I know where it's heading this year."
- Ken Bruen
"Stunning, pitch-perfect noir...conjures forth a lost, poignant, and darkly luminous San Francisco in which Hammett - and LA's Chandler - would feel immediately at home."
- Cornelia Read, author of "A Field of Darkness
""Come...rush headlong into 1940's San Francisco. You'll be smoking two packs of Chesterfields and drinking Old Taylor straight from the bottle by the time you're done. Take a sip. I dare you."
- Louise Ure, Shamus Award-winning author of "The Fault Tree
""One of my favorite novels of all time. Watch out, Sam Spade, Miranda Corbie is a woman hardboiled and feminine enough to keep you in line!"
- Rebecca Cantrell, author of "A Trace of Smoke
""An explosive, important book...imbued with the colors, sounds, emotions and excitement of true history. The best part is an ending that will blow you away."
- Laura Benedict, author of "Isabella Moon"th
A stunning recreation of time and place that I greatly enjoyed...as will everyone who reads it.--Robert B. Parker
A powerful crime novel that perfectly captures the noir mood of San Francisco in the 40's. Stanley's dialogue bristles with attitude, the atmosphere is thick as the bay fog, and her protagonist is a great new dame in crime fiction. A smart, stunning thriller.--Linda Fairstein
Evocative and taut bursts with dark atmosphere. Fans of Raymond Chandler and Megan Abbott should add Stanley to their list of must-read authors.--Tasha Alexander"
Stunning, pitch-perfect noir...conjures forth a lost, poignant, and darkly luminous San Francisco in which Hammett - and LA's Chandler - would feel immediately at home.--Cornelia Read, author of A Field of Darkness
An explosive, important book...imbued with the colors, sounds, emotions and excitement of true history. The best part is an ending that will blow you away.--Laura Benedict, author of Isabella Moon
Come...rush headlong into 1940's San Francisco. You'll be smoking two packs of Chesterfields and drinking Old Taylor straight from the bottle by the time you're done. Take a sip. I dare you.--Louise Ure, Shamus Award-winning author of The Fault Tree
One of my favorite novels of all time. Watch out, Sam Spade, Miranda Corbie is a woman hardboiled and feminine enough to keep you in line!--Rebecca Cantrell, author of A Trace of Smoke

Beautifully imagined and beautifully written, this book does everything great fiction is supposed to. "Lee Child"

A stunning recreation of time and place that I greatly enjoyed...as will everyone who reads it. Robert B. Parker

Big and ambitious, both reverent and original. Author Kelli Stanley has her eye on greatness. "George Pelecanos"

A powerful crime novel that perfectly captures the noir mood of San Francisco in the 40's. Stanley's dialogue bristles with attitude, the atmosphere is thick as the bay fog, and her protagonist is a great new dame in crime fiction. A smart, stunning thriller. Linda Fairstein

Evocative and taut bursts with dark atmosphere. Fans of Raymond Chandler and Megan Abbott should add Stanley to their list of must-read authors. Tasha Alexander

Blew me to ribbons. From the opening chapter, we're rooting for Miranda, a marvelous, feisty, compassionate heroine who is my favorite P.I. to come down the mean streets in oh, so long. Polish up the Shamus, I know where it's heading this year. "Ken Bruen"

Stunning, pitch-perfect noir...conjures forth a lost, poignant, and darkly luminous San Francisco in which Hammett - and LA's Chandler - would feel immediately at home. Cornelia Read, author of A Field of Darkness

Come...rush headlong into 1940's San Francisco. You'll be smoking two packs of Chesterfields and drinking Old Taylor straight from the bottle by the time you're done. Take a sip. I dare you. Louise Ure, Shamus Award-winning author of The Fault Tree

One of my favorite novels of all time. Watch out, Sam Spade, Miranda Corbie is a woman hardboiled and feminine enough to keep you in line! Rebecca Cantrell, author of A Trace of Smoke

An explosive, important book...imbued with the colors, sounds, emotions and excitement of true history. The best part is an ending that will blow you away. Laura Benedict, author of Isabella Moon"

Beautifully imagined and beautifully written, this book does everything great fiction is supposed to. Lee Child

A stunning recreation of time and place that I greatly enjoyed...as will everyone who reads it. Robert B. Parker

Big and ambitious, both reverent and original. Author Kelli Stanley has her eye on greatness. George Pelecanos

A powerful crime novel that perfectly captures the noir mood of San Francisco in the 40's. Stanley's dialogue bristles with attitude, the atmosphere is thick as the bay fog, and her protagonist is a great new dame in crime fiction. A smart, stunning thriller. Linda Fairstein

Evocative and taut bursts with dark atmosphere. Fans of Raymond Chandler and Megan Abbott should add Stanley to their list of must-read authors. Tasha Alexander

Blew me to ribbons. From the opening chapter, we're rooting for Miranda, a marvelous, feisty, compassionate heroine who is my favorite P.I. to come down the mean streets in oh, so long. Polish up the Shamus, I know where it's heading this year. Ken Bruen

Stunning, pitch-perfect noir...conjures forth a lost, poignant, and darkly luminous San Francisco in which Hammett - and LA's Chandler - would feel immediately at home. Cornelia Read, author of A Field of Darkness

Come...rush headlong into 1940's San Francisco. You'll be smoking two packs of Chesterfields and drinking Old Taylor straight from the bottle by the time you're done. Take a sip. I dare you. Louise Ure, Shamus Award-winning author of The Fault Tree

One of my favorite novels of all time. Watch out, Sam Spade, Miranda Corbie is a woman hardboiled and feminine enough to keep you in line! Rebecca Cantrell, author of A Trace of Smoke

An explosive, important book...imbued with the colors, sounds, emotions and excitement of true history. The best part is an ending that will blow you away. Laura Benedict, author of Isabella Moon

"

"Beautifully imagined and beautifully written, this book does everything great fiction is supposed to." --Lee Child

"A stunning recreation of time and place that I greatly enjoyed...as will everyone who reads it." --Robert B. Parker

"Big and ambitious, both reverent and original. Author Kelli Stanley has her eye on greatness." --George Pelecanos

"A powerful crime novel that perfectly captures the noir mood of San Francisco in the 40's. Stanley's dialogue bristles with attitude, the atmosphere is thick as the bay fog, and her protagonist is a great new dame in crime fiction. A smart, stunning thriller." --Linda Fairstein

"Evocative and taut...bursts with dark atmosphere. Fans of Raymond Chandler and Megan Abbott should add Stanley to their list of must-read authors." --Tasha Alexander

"Blew me to ribbons. From the opening chapter, we're rooting for Miranda, a marvelous, feisty, compassionate heroine who is my favorite P.I. to come down the mean streets in oh, so long. Polish up the Shamus, I know where it's heading this year." --Ken Bruen

"Stunning, pitch-perfect noir...conjures forth a lost, poignant, and darkly luminous San Francisco in which Hammett - and LA's Chandler - would feel immediately at home." --Cornelia Read, author of A Field of Darkness

"Come...rush headlong into 1940's San Francisco. You'll be smoking two packs of Chesterfields and drinking Old Taylor straight from the bottle by the time you're done. Take a sip. I dare you." --Louise Ure, Shamus Award-winning author of The Fault Tree

"One of my favorite novels of all time. Watch out, Sam Spade, Miranda Corbie is a woman hardboiled and feminine enough to keep you in line!" --Rebecca Cantrell, author of A Trace of Smoke

"An explosive, important book...imbued with the colors, sounds, emotions and excitement of true history. The best part is an ending that will blow you away." --Laura Benedict, author of Isabella Moon