Cherokee America

Margaret Verble (Author)
Available

Product Details

Price
$27.00  $24.84
Publisher
Houghton Mifflin
Publish Date
February 19, 2019
Pages
400
Dimensions
6.1 X 9.2 X 1.6 inches | 1.25 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781328494221

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

MARGARET VERBLE is an enrolled citizen of the Cherokee Nation of Oklahoma. Her first novel, Maud's Line, was a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize.

Reviews

A New York Times Notable Book of 2019

​"Verble has given historical fiction lovers a real gift: 'Cherokee America' is an excellent illustration of how diverse books enrich literature, and the minds of those who read them."--New York Times Book Review

"Cherokee America does what all the best historical fiction does--it vividly captures its particular time and place, yet simultaneously offers valuable insights about our own era. Margaret Verble is an exceptional storyteller, and this novel will enhance her already considerable literary reputation."--Ron Rash, author of Serena

"Highly recommended for readers of literary historical fiction in the vein of Lalita Tademy's Citizen's Creek and Paulette Jiles's News of the World."--Library Journal, STARRED review

"In Verble's hands, this tale of a mother's love and her gritty resolve in a shameful era of false promises and broken treaties makes for a rich, propulsive novel."--Publishers Weekly

"
An impressive, historical saga of Native American life in the mid-19th century."--BookPage