Charlotte and the Rock

Stephen W. Martin (Author) Samantha Cotterill (Illustrator)
Available

Description

An unexpected friendship forms between a girl and her pet rock in this charming story that's perfect for fans of What Pet Should I Get?

Charlotte has always really wanted a pet, so when her parents present her with one for her birthday she expects a cat, dog, or maybe a bird. Instead, she receives a rock. Rocks can't cuddle, fetch, or even help her eat her vegetables, but that doesn't stop Charlotte from loving her rock as if he were real. If only he could love her back...or can he?

Product Details

Price
$17.99  $16.55
Publisher
Dial Books
Publish Date
March 14, 2017
Pages
32
Dimensions
9.5 X 0.5 X 9.6 inches | 1.0 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781101993897
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Stephen W. Martin is a writer and director, with several award-winning short films to his credit. He is the author of Robot Smash and is also the coauthor of Pop Manga with renowned manga artist and comics creator Camilla D'Errico.

Samantha Cotterill is an illustrator and textile designer. She works and resides with her family in Upstate New York.

Reviews

"Amusing as well as subtly encouraging about the rewards for patience and working with what you've got." --Kirkus

"Martin's dry humor delivers giggles ("You said what ate your homework?" Charlotte's teacher snaps), and so does the concluding reversal of fortune." --Publishers Weekly

"The sharp, declarative text and warm, funny illustrations make Charlotte and Dennis...an irresistible pair." --Horn Book

"Kids will giggle over Charlotte's efforts to treat her rock like a normal pet, and it's refreshingto see a child making the best of a disappointing situation." --Booklist

"Children will laugh at the surprise ending and may be inspired to try to hatch a pet rock of their own....A recommended purchase for any primary collection." --School Library Journal