Catherine House

Elisabeth Thomas (Author)
Available

Product Details

Price
$29.99  $27.59
Publisher
HarperLuxe
Publish Date
May 12, 2020
Pages
448
Dimensions
5.9 X 9.0 X 1.0 inches | 0.8 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780062999146

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Elisabeth Thomas grew up in Brooklyn, New York, where she still lives and now writes. She graduated from Yale University and currently works as an archivist for a modern art museum. This is her first novel.

Reviews

"With this astonishing debut, Elisabeth Thomas has conjured an immersive, intoxicating world that left me as reluctant as its characters were to leave it behind. I inhaled the novel in a single, glorious weekend, but Catherine House and its denizens will linger with me for a very long time."-- Robin Wasserman, New York Times bestselling author of Girls on Fire
"Elisabeth Thomas is a magician of a writer who expertly blends a deeply atmospheric boarding-school story with a futuristic sci-fi mystery in Catherine House. A grown-up, sophisticated version of Lois Duncan's Down a Dark Hall, this dazzling debut will have you turning the pages late into the night."--Angie Kim, bestselling author of Miracle Creek
"Elisabeth Thomas had me mesmerized from the first page. Dreamy and brimming with dread, Catherine House will swallow you whole."--Rory Power, New York Times bestselling author of Wilder Girls
"Thomas's debut novel is a dark, delicious gothic read that hits all the right spots in the best way. If you want a book you can't put down for even a second, this is it."--Forbes, The 10 Most Anticipated Books Of 2020
"For fans of Donna Tartt's The Secret History and Kazuo Ishiguro's Never Let Me Go, Catherine House is a haunting, atmospheric reflection on the discovery of self and others. At times terrifying, always gorgeously captivating, Thomas' debut is one not to be missed, and perhaps to be revisited frequently."--Booklist (starred review)
"Spellbinding . . . Surreal imagery, spare characterization, and artful, hypnotic prose lend Thomas's tale a delirious air, but at the book's core lies a profound portrait of depression and adolescent turmoil. Fans of Donna Tartt's The Secret History will devour this philosophical fever dream."--Publishers Weekly (starred review)
"Catherine House is a page turner that is equal parts dark, dreamy, and disturbing."--PopSugar, 25 of the Best New Books to Add to Your Reading List This Spring
"A luxurious tale of an ivory-tower institution with sinister secrets, Catherine House is pure Gothic suspense for the 21st century."--Harper's Bazaar, The Best Summer Books to Read in 2020
"Catherine House is a novel that lingers long after the final page. It's a haunting, mesmerizing debut--a modern gothic tale that is both profoundly moving and eerily disturbing. Thomas's novel makes us question our ability to forgive, to accommodate our mistakes and those of others, and the possibility of ever truly finding a place that feels like home."--Ivy Pochoda, award-winning author of Wonder Valley and Visitation Street